Which steps should I take once I get the MicroHD?

highskies

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Feb 15, 2010
Texarkana
Not certain if this is the correct place to post this or not.

I ordered a brand new MicroHD which should be here by Friday. I have zero experience with this receiver. But I have checked out some threads here and there, so that I won't be totally clueless when it arrives. I have no idea what firmware it will have in it, but it's pretty safe to say that it won't be the most recent. Should I then want to upgrade the firmware right away? I already have a good idea how that's done, especially if one does it via satellite. The part I'm uncertain about is what you do after it's loaded the firmware and that the receiver has been flashed. Does one then do a master reset before they turn anything off, then after that, turn the receiver off for at least 10 secs? And as to the latter, I'm unclear what it means to turn off the receiver. Is this meaning with the remote, or with an off/on switch on the back of the receiver or something?

And one other thing, the S9 I have, it's pretty much toast. Currently my 31" motorized offset dish is parked on 97W. It's pretty close to the zero mark, but not quite, since my southern sat is 93W. So how do i go about syncing things with the MicroHD when it arrives, so that I can use the USALS feature? Do I need to get the dish at zero first? If so, don't think I can do it beforehand, since the S9 is pretty much toast, and that I can't get into any of the menus anymore.

Can someone explain the logic in this? I got my MicroHd yesterday. It was a piece of cake figuring it out. I had both c band and ku working. So today then, I decided to do the firmware upgrade via sat. I locked onto the correct signal on 97w. It downloaded the firmware