Which way to go?

Boykie

Original poster
Jul 30, 2004
Hi Everyone,

This is my first time on this forum. I've been a Dish Network user for a few years, and I have 3 (2 in use) 501 PVR's. I have just purchased the new Mitsubishi DLP 52" tv, and this will be my first foray into HD. So here are my questions.

Which satellite provider (DirecTv, Dish, Voom, etc) is most recommended? I prefer to stick with Dish, as I already have multiple PVR's, but I'm not married to them.

Is the 921 receiver recommended. I've read on this forum a fair amount of negativity, and it concerns me. I watch a lot of local stations, and I read with concern of the inability to list them on the online guide. What does this really mean? Does it mean that I can't preset to record off locals, and if they're not on the guide, how does one select them at all? Is this something that is going to be remedied in the very near future?

What of the other receivers that I've seen mentioned on here. 924, 942? When are these due out, what are the expected prices, and are they worth waiting for?

Thanks guys. I appreciate any help/guidance

Boykie said:
Hi Everyone,

This is my first time on this forum. I've been a Dish Network user for a few years, and I have 3 (2 in use) 501 PVR's. I have just purchased the new Mitsubishi DLP 52" tv, and this will be my first foray into HD. So here are my questions.

Which satellite provider (DirecTv, Dish, Voom, etc) is most recommended? I prefer to stick with Dish, as I already have multiple PVR's, but I'm not married to them.

Is the 921 receiver recommended. I've read on this forum a fair amount of negativity, and it concerns me. I watch a lot of local stations, and I read with concern of the inability to list them on the online guide. What does this really mean? Does it mean that I can't preset to record off locals, and if they're not on the guide, how does one select them at all? Is this something that is going to be remedied in the very near future?