Who owns the Voom Contract?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

Dan Berndt

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Dec 2, 2003
Maintenance Contracts?

I signed on with VOOM back in 2003 but it came with a two year maintenance agreement that I have more that six months left on. That maintenance agreement was one of the key reasons I was willing to invest in VOOM. I know many people have recently signed up with six month agreements.

It's hard for me to believe that VOOM will discontinue service with outstanding contracts like this. I'm not a lawyer but I would think VOOM is obligate to honor these contracts. And if VOOM is sold, the purchaser also buys the VOOM contracts.

That brings up an interesting point, if the VOOM hardware has been sold who owns the maintenance contract on my receivers? I would be interested in how the Installs, Inc. contract with VOOM was affected by the sale. That's a bigger question, is VOOM going to hold the Installs, Inc. contract now?

It seems to me that what happens to the Installs, Inc. contract could be a clue as to what is going to happen to our VOOM service. If there is a time clause in the Installs, Inc. contract VOOM would definitely be in breach if they just turned the switch off. I think there are to many contract issues for VOOM to make any big changes anytime soon.

Maybe someone can explain to me the financials of VOOM. I know we have been told that VOOM is some $500 million in the hole but where are those expenses going? Even though VOOM has sold its satellite it could still lease the old fequencies from Dish.