Why have it if Quality is bad :no

ChetK said:
Just for the record, if you've read this entire thread, then you are definitely educated, aware and informed.

So why your previous post?
Are you saying that people who don't see things exactly as you do are ignorant and stupid?

No, not at all. Someone earlier said that "ignorance is bliss." My point is: How can you be ignorant if you are in the know?

Look, I've had a LOT of experience with digital video. I can tell the difference between a highly compressed image and a not-so-compressed image. Maybe I just have a trained eye. I'm not suggesting that you're stupid if you don't see it.

My whole point here is that Voom doesn't look as good as Dish Network when it comes to HD. And that's a fact. It is due to more compression. My mission in this thread is to point this out so that it can be fixed. When folks come on here and say that there is not a difference, it gives Voom more of a reason to NOT fix it.

ChetK said:
My whole point here is that Voom doesn't look as good as Dish Network when it comes to HD. And that's a fact. It is due to more compression. ..

I am not sure what is a fact and what is our impression. I believe that it was Sean who mentioned that the actual compression rate for HD signals on D* and E* is very similar to V*. It might be the STB. I have had 3 different D* STBs, and I could tell the difference between them.

ChetK said:
No, not at all. Someone earlier said that "ignorance is bliss." My point is: How can you be ignorant if you are in the know?

Look, I've had a LOT of experience with digital video. I can tell the difference between a highly compressed image and a not-so-compressed image. Maybe I just have a trained eye. I'm not suggesting that you're stupid if you don't see it.