WVIA moving frequencies on 7/15/19 at 10:00am

Discussion in 'Over the Air TV By RabbitEars.Info' started by FTA4PA, May 24, 2019.

  1. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Topic Starter Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,594
    Likes Received:
    1,625
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    I just saw a notice that WVIA in Pennsylvania will be moving to their repack frequency on July 15th at 10:00am and that OTA viewers should rescan then to continue receiving them. Since they are sharing facilities with WNEP presumably they will move that day as well. :)
     
  2. Radioguy41

    Radioguy41 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    922
    Location:
    Lehighton, Pennsylvania
    Not again! It's not even a year and a half since the last change! :censored
     
    FTA4PA likes this.
  3. Trip

    Trip RabbitEars Webmaster Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Posts:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    571
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, US
    Yeah, how dare they move to a lower frequency and increase power. The nerve! :rolleyes:

    - Trip
     
  4. Radioguy41

    Radioguy41 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    922
    Location:
    Lehighton, Pennsylvania
    :rolleyes:
     
  5. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Topic Starter Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,594
    Likes Received:
    1,625
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    The move that was to have taken place July 15th is now happening at the beginning of August. :rolleyes:
     
  6. Radioguy41

    Radioguy41 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    922
    Location:
    Lehighton, Pennsylvania
    Yeah I noticed 44 was still hanging around without rescanning. I'll wait for it to disappear before I make the effort.
     
    FTA4PA likes this.
  7. Radioguy41

    Radioguy41 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    922
    Location:
    Lehighton, Pennsylvania
    #7 Radioguy41, Aug 1, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2019
    FTA4PA likes this.
  8. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Topic Starter Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,594
    Likes Received:
    1,625
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
  9. Radioguy41

    Radioguy41 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    922
    Location:
    Lehighton, Pennsylvania
    The Philly stations did change today but messed something up. A rescan locks all of the subs of ch 10 (WCAU) and ch 61 (WPPX) but not the primary of either.
     
  10. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Topic Starter Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,594
    Likes Received:
    1,625
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Strange, never had that happen here - it has always been all or none? :confused:
     
    #10 FTA4PA, Aug 1, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2019
  11. Radioguy41

    Radioguy41 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    922
    Location:
    Lehighton, Pennsylvania
    It turns out there were more channels like that and the problem was with the VIP211K's. I rescanned three TV's using their built-in tuners and they all locked everything just fine on the first try but both Dish boxes had the problem. It took multiple scans until all the channels were finally locked. Each time I rescanned it would lock one more primary channel than the scan before. Kinda weird.
     
    FTA4PA likes this.
  12. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Topic Starter Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,594
    Likes Received:
    1,625
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Good to hear you got it sorted out. :)
     
    Radioguy41 likes this.
  13. Jim S.

    Jim S. When someone asks you if you're a god, you say yes Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    5,051
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    FN11od
    Does WVIA still have a transmitter in Williamsport? According to TVfool they do, but it doesn't show up on the RabbitEars search either pre-repack or post-repack.
     
  14. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Topic Starter Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,594
    Likes Received:
    1,625
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Yes but it appears under the WNEP listing (W20AD-D) as they share facilities with them. :)

    RabbitEars.Info
     
  15. Jim S.

    Jim S. When someone asks you if you're a god, you say yes Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    5,051
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    FN11od
    So that's the only one now? Pre-repack, they used to have their own transmitter on channel 51 located on the mountain to serve a wider area than the city itself.
     
  16. Trip

    Trip RabbitEars Webmaster Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Posts:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    571
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, US
    Should still be there on channel 17. Are you not seeing it?

    - Trip
     
    FTA4PA likes this.
  17. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Topic Starter Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,594
    Likes Received:
    1,625
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    I searched the database again in a different way and found it ( https://www.rabbitears.info/tvq.php?city=&state=PA&mktid=&call=&facid=&country=&chlo=17&chhi=17&vchlo=&vchhi=&serv=&auth=&status=&appid=&apparn=&ant=&antmak=&antmod=&antpol=&antmbt=&owner=&party=&request=list&sort= ). Fooled me because the city of license is listed as Scranton but clicking on the transmitter coordinates does indeed place it near Williamsport. Either way I haven't received it here. :rolleyes:
     
  18. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Topic Starter Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,594
    Likes Received:
    1,625
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Well, the change in frequencies for WVIA (and WNEP, the station they share facilities with) that was supposed to happen on 7-15-2019 then was rescheduled to 8-1-2019 then was put off again still hasn't happened. I wonder what the delay is? :rolleyes:
     
    Radioguy41 likes this.
  19. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Topic Starter Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,594
    Likes Received:
    1,625
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Well, answering my own post, I believe I found out why WNEP/WVIA has not moved to their new frequency - apparently their new signal was too good! o_O More about it in this video from someone in the know (relevant section is 2:54 to 3:42). :rolleyes:

     
    charlesrshell and Radioguy41 like this.
  20. Radioguy41

    Radioguy41 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    922
    Location:
    Lehighton, Pennsylvania
    Very well explained. If the repack is falling so far behind by stage 4 you have to wonder what the impact will be going forward. With the football season almost upon us there are going to be a lot of unhappy campers if they can't get their sports fix. Another not-well-thought-out move by the FCC.

    That conflict he mentioned because the FCC moved the Ohio station to the same frequency as the Pittsburgh repeater is similar to the FCC allowing a station from Atlantic City to relocate to a Philadelphia transmitter but allowing them to keep ch 44 which now blows over WVIA when I scan and I can no longer lock WVIA. Why an AC station's footprint reaches northward into Carbon County PA is beyond me. I complained but no one seems to care. Gotta luv it. :rolleyes:
     
    charlesrshell and FTA4PA like this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...