A Bit of Advise

Status
Please reply by conversation.

charper1

Bourbon Tester
Supporting Founder
May 18, 2004
I'm Nationwide
I am not a FTA newbie BUT I have been out of the hobby for a while being in an APT a while. I may buy a setup as I am looking at homes. I was thinking about the AZBOX or OPENBOX, but looking for advise on what you guys think is the best box right now. I am looking for HD, 4:2:2 and likely C/Ku not sure about PVR at this time. I want a movable dish. Thanks.

Last edited:

charper1

Bourbon Tester
Supporting Founder
May 18, 2004
I'm Nationwide
Thanks, I was thinking the same thing. Is there any PC card that does most of what the AZBOX does? What are the pros & cons? Thanks

brentb636

SatelliteGuys Pro
Jun 24, 2006
5 miles N of Saugatuck, Mi
PCI cards are not know for blindscan capability, but they are inexpensive. They also require a little bit of attention to getting them running, but they work well. I have two that I use for testing and experimentation. Personally, I'd hate to have to use a PCI for all my TV, but using one for just 4:2:2 feeds would be a fine possibility. I think you'll be happier most of the time, with an Openbox, it's an easy to use receiver, and not nearly as kludgey as the Azbox. I have both ( in fact, now two of the Openbox varieties ) , as well as a Coolsat 8000. The Azbox is the last one that I choose to view a feed, even thought it is the most competent overall receiver.
:)

charper1

Bourbon Tester
Supporting Founder
May 18, 2004
I'm Nationwide
Hmm, decisions..... I was really looking at blindscan as a must-have, so maybe that again pushes me toward either the AZ or the OPEN.

Where did you purchase from? Thanks again

brentb636

SatelliteGuys Pro
Jun 24, 2006
5 miles N of Saugatuck, Mi