bad phone lines for my dialup...have ?

uh-oh

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jan 9, 2005
No phone competition and thus stuck with dialup with very slow speed. Connection is worse or non-existent when damp outside.
I am not good with all this technology and can't make much out of posts here, so please answer in simple language.

Satellite internet connection would be our only other option as there is no DSL or cable here. I want to make an informed decision:
*how many satellite companies are there?
*which one would be best for the tech impaired?
*what is downside of satellite connection vs dialup? I am miserable with our phone service, and we are stuck with them for phone service because a cell phone won't work here - we live in mtns in valley.
*we have big dish and directv and happy with both. We also have satellite radio and happy with it. There are problems, of course, but nothing is perfect - we manage fine, and have a tech repairman an hour away to help.

Thanks for suggestions

Hobojoe has posted that his Hughesnet Hn7000 is giving good VOIP (Vontage) service. I think I would look to Hughesnet if I were you. It isn't cheap, looking at 79.00 / mo for the speed you will need as a minimum.

uh-oh said:
No phone competition and thus stuck with dialup with very slow speed. Connection is worse or non-existent when damp outside.

- Not to defend your phone co., but quality (both voice & dial-up speed) deteriorates the farther you are from the phone co. equipment. My phone company's equipment is over 25 miles away and the fastest dial-up speed I got was 19.8 Kbps; some neighbors got even less. That's how/why I got into satellite internet.

Satellite internet connection would be our only other option as there is no DSL or cable here. I want to make an informed decision:
*how many satellite companies are there?