Can't detect some transponders in SatMex5 and Satmex6

Status
Please reply by conversation.

robosat

SatelliteGuys Family
Sep 25, 2012
North of Mexico
Hi Guys.

I'm new in C Band. After several days trying to aim my new 1.8m dish to AMC18 or Satmex6 satellites without success, I finnally decided to get help from someone with experience. The antena points now to SatMex5 and SatMex6 (moving the dish with a motor). I received with good quality signal (60-70) some channels from both satellites. But there are some transponders I know they have strong signal and are working that my MicroHD receiver can´t get. Example : In SatMex5, transponder 3720 (with a lot of channels), the MicroHD can't even detect Signal level bigger than 45 (gray color), and of course, cero quality signal. I tried deleting the transponder and addin it again. Nothing happens.
Does anybody know waht is happening? What can I do in order to get this transponder?
Greetings ...

True. Thanks Fat Air. But maybe that's not the problem. There are other SatMex5 Transponders wich not exist in SatMex6, and also the MicroHD can't detect. The thing is when my installer did a blind scan with his receiver, I remember seen channels in transponders that the MicroHD couldn't even scan because no signal is detected. So, the fact is that one receiver (was an old one. I don´t remember its brand, but it had the same screens that Pansat had) can detect signal in one transponder, and the MicroHD doesn't.

Thoughts on 'missing' transponders/channels

If one receiver gets them, and the second doesn't, I'd have to think it's the receiver. Maybe the older receiver copes with interference better.(?) Or may have a 'hotter' tuner. Have read that the mHD tuner is one of the best performers in 'pulling in' weak transponders. This may be the downfall. The receiver is too good at weaker signals increasing the chances for adjacent satellites to interfere when using a 'small' dish.