do i need 119 satellite?

Discussion in 'The DIRECTV Forum' started by Chrome69, Sep 15, 2008.

  1. Chrome69

    Chrome69 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am looking to install Directv and want to get the Slimline dish with 5LNB's but do i really need 119? As this is blocked by a house and if i can get away without it it would be great. I am mostly interested in HD channels especially the ESPN HD family of channels.. Any suggestions?

    I see the slimline gets 99,101,103,110 and 119
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. charper1

    charper1 Bourbon Tester
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    18,443
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can you give us some details as to why another house will be blocking only DirecTV 7S at 119.0°W? You should be able to easily elevate the dish to a proper height to get perfect LoS. Also, post your zip and we can give you the azimuth to be aimed and with a $12 heading compass from a Wal-Mart or sporting goods store, you can eyeball it.

    119.0° does carry some SD LiL so be sure to post your DMA.

    It also carries the following MPEG2 channels:

    72 ESPN 2 HD
    74 Universal HD
    79 HDNet
    82 WNBC-TV (NBC - New York)
    86 WABC-TV (ABC - New York)
    88 WNYW-TV (FOX - New York)
    94 Yes Network HD
    99 PPV Movies & Special Events
    400's Para Todos channels
    454 CCTV 4 America
    511 HBO Latino
    416 & 424 Fox Sports en Español
    Some music in the 800's & 9500's (maybe commercial only)
     
    #2
  3. jtwex

    jtwex Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Posts:
    828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea, 119 would be the last signal I would worry about tuning if all the other came in strongly. I just helped with a neighbors & thought for sure the 99/101 were obviously blocked & they were in the 90 range. While some installers call it quits if any fail I think either way you will be fine.
     
    #3
  4. Chrome69

    Chrome69 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    72 ESPN 2 HD that i would want so i guess it would have to be installed in the back yard. Like i said i want the ESPN's in HD so i will have to place it in the back yard... But i thought i heard they were doing away with that Bird? Is their a place where their is a list of what channels are on what satellites for Directv? The List here doesn't really show whats HD and is missing the other 2 birds(103 and 99).. http://www.satelliteguys.us/thelist
     
    #4
  5. charper1

    charper1 Bourbon Tester
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    18,443
    Likes Received:
    1
    I beleive that DirecTV also has an MPEG4 version of the ESPN HD family of channels, but if you can get the SlimLine "fully and correctly" installed; then you should do so. Don't bank on rumors of a birds demise. That is a sure fire way to get burned down the road if plans change or never come about in the first place and then it will you be the one paying to get it done right later. "Work wise ONCE rather that un-wise numerous times".

    You could try these links:

    DirecTV USA on Spaceway 2 & DirecTV 11 at 99.2°W - LyngSat

    DirecTV USA on DirecTV 4S/8 at 101.0°W - LyngSat

    DirecTV USA on Spaceway 1 & DirecTV 10 at 102.8°W - LyngSat

    DirecTV USA on DirecTV 5 at 109.8°W - LyngSat

    DirecTV USA on DirecTV 7S at 119.0°W - LyngSat
     
    #5
  6. Depep

    Depep Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
     
    #6
  7. Chrome69

    Chrome69 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes great links thanks....

    Depep, i think your right with that, i would rather get it in MPEG4 anyways and excellent tip for the guide issues... What receiver are you using now? I was going to grab the HR20 or HR21 think that's the DirectPlus HD DVR, thats the actual one i will be getting...
     
    #7
  8. iwc5893

    iwc5893 PIT MEMBER

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just be aware that a DirecTV installer probably won't install your system unless he can get all 5 sats, regardless of whether or not you sign off on not receiving the 119.
     
    #8
  9. Chrome69

    Chrome69 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0

    who says an installer is going to do it? I have been doing dish installs off and on for 25 years. I can do it myself.. Just wanted to know the importance for 119
     
    #9
  10. rad

    rad Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    7,397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Using the new 3LNB DirecTV Slimline 3 LNB 99/101/103 Ka/Ku HDTV Mpeg4 SL3P - eBay (item 290260542391 end time Sep-18-08 19:53:47 PDT) get's around the problem of not being able to see 119 for the guide data.
     
    #10
  11. Chrome69

    Chrome69 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    #11

Share This Page

VigLink badge
Sucuri