FAQ needed for Dish

videobruce

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Sep 21, 2003
I went to the VOOM fourn and looked through the FAQ threads and found it strange that the same thing wasn't available here.
I really hate to ask this, but since I'm a newbie when it comes to digital satellite equipment ( i have had experiance with C band analog 15-20 years ago and have installed basic single D*TV dishes) where do I start to narrow my choices and options since there are this many??

I was looking at VOOM, but with all the problems that has dropped from favor. I have seen D*TV many times and never liked what I saw (SD) because of the amount of compression used (looks as I was watching a Smearitron (Trinitron) from the 70's).

HD is what I'm primarly interested in. NO music or sports and as little 'fluff' as possible (IF that is possible).

I see that VOOM won't let you, but will Dish let you do your own install?

I'm not sure what you would like for FAQ's but maybe http://ekb.dbstalk.com is what you're looking for. However, the best information is found here in the forums.

As for choices, there's basically three: E*, D*, and V*

Both D* and E* use compression. Apparently, they use different methods, because people post different types of complaints about it.

To answer your last question, yes, E* wil let you do your own install, but considering it comes free with their promo packages, why bother?

And FAQ would be nice.. but dish doesn't make anything easy, so an FAQ would be hard.

When I train our dispatchers, I give them a 10 page booklet on CURRENT equipment configurations and diagrams alone... forget obsolete configurations.

A Knowledge base would be more appropriate for Dish. But that just makes me shiver with microsoft vibes.

Yeah, the EKB has some good stuff, but we need more. I'm working on the allowable configurations database (BTW - thanks for those pics!).