FM Station Finder

Discussion in 'SiriusXM Satellite Radio' started by Lerch, Jul 24, 2006.

  1. Lerch

    Lerch Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry ahead of time if this topic is a repeat.

    Anyone know of a website that can find suitable FM stations for Satellite Radio listening.

    Hi, Sirius Rich


    Lerch
     
    #1
  2. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,753
    Likes Received:
    421
  3. Geronimo

    Geronimo Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    9,957
    Likes Received:
    36
    Too bad that none of the frequencies it finds for me is available with my modulator.
     
    #3
  4. GeorgeLV

    GeorgeLV PIT MEMBER

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get a better modulator. The good ones let you select any frequency from 88.1-107.9.
     
    #4
  5. pdxsam

    pdxsam Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Posts:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0

    What radio do you have? Just this weekend I threw in a SIRSWB (for Sirius) in the wife's car. Made an incredible difference in reception.
     
    #5
  6. C1787GJ

    C1787GJ Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Posts:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is a SIRSWB
     
    #6
  7. pdxsam

    pdxsam Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Posts:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a device which plugs in between the antenna and the radio of the car and plugs into the FM Out port on older Sirius radios. It disables the FM Modulator and sends the signal directly into the radio.

    Elminates the problem of stations overpowering the FM Modulator.

    http://www.cardomain.com/productimages?sku=AVXSIRSWB
     
    #7
  8. pdxsam

    pdxsam Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Posts:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    #8
  9. Lerch

    Lerch Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Guys.



    Lerch
     
    #9
  10. GeorgeLV

    GeorgeLV PIT MEMBER

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    This one seems more out of date than radio-locator.com. It didn't even know my zip code (created about a year ago) existed.
     
    #10
  11. Geronimo

    Geronimo Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    9,957
    Likes Received:
    36

    It is abuilt in modulator with the SkyFi2.
     
    #11
  12. Sirius_Rich

    Sirius_Rich Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Posts:
    673
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi back to you Lerch, good to see posting on Satelliteguys.us and the satellite radio forum. Welcome and enjoy.:hatsoff:
     
    #12
  13. Sirius_Rich

    Sirius_Rich Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Posts:
    673
    Likes Received:
    0

    These wired FM modulators are readily available at Best Buy and Circuit City. Should be available at most satellite radio online retailers too. They work well.
     
    #13
  14. dandmb50

    dandmb50 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your using Sirius all you need to do is scan manually the FM channels where you live. This is because it depends where you live which FM frequency is available. Where you live maybe 104.5 is a clear channel. But here in Toronto one of the biggest FM stations uses that frequency.

    So what I recommend is manually go channel to channel in the 85 range and find a station that just has static, no sounds at all. For the purpose of this test lets say channel 90.5 is clear.

    You then goto your Sirius radio and hit menu.
    Then goto Fm transmitter and click the nob (tuner).
    Then go to frequency selection and the channel your radio is set-up on currently will appear. With the tuning nob you turn it up or down to get to 90.5 then push the nob in to save the tuner channel.
    It is not necessary to go to the dealer to have this changed.
    It make take a few times and different channel selection to find one that works best for you in the area you live in.

    Here in Toronto I started out on 89.5 I think and ended up with 90.5 and the signal reception is great for me.
    But I have heard that getting the modulator doesn't really help too much in big cities. Since the signal goes through radio waves, it's going to cut in/out every once in a while that cannot be overcome. But before you go the route of the modulator just try the channel switching and see if it is better.
    Let's remember this signal is coming from space.
    And in many large North American cities they have repeaters which pickup the signal from the sky and rebroadcast a stronger signal on the ground.
    We have them here in Toronto and I know they are also in New York City and Los Angeles.
    Good luck, don't give up it will improve as time goes on and more repeaters are added to bad areas. And I don't work for the satellite companies. Just a regular working guy who likes listening to commerical free radio.
     

    Attached Files:

    #14
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 25, 2006
  15. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,753
    Likes Received:
    421
    please use the thumbnail option for pictures to help our dial up users :)

    I use 97.7 here in Minneapolis mainly because there is a station in SD border that is on 97.7 9that won't get to me) and a distant station in Wisconsin border on 97.7

    :)
     
    #15
  16. dandmb50

    dandmb50 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just new here how do you use the thumbnail option?
    Where is it on the posting section above or below when I post?


    [​IMG]
     
    #16
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2006
  17. dandmb50

    dandmb50 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is that picture a good size for the board?
    I still don't know what I need to click to make a thumbnail?
    I am new here today.
     
    #17
  18. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,753
    Likes Received:
    421
    when you reply to a post, scroll down past the part where you type and it says "manage attachments"

    click on that and you can upload pictures that show as thumbnails :)
     

    Attached Files:

    #18
  19. dandmb50

    dandmb50 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0

    Oh thats great thanks now I know.
    I'm just gonna sail back to Toronto now....
     

    Attached Files:

    #19
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2006
  20. pdxsam

    pdxsam Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Posts:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whut's a dial up? :)
     
    #20
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri