Welcome to SatelliteGuys!



Get rid of many of these ads when you become a member of SatelliteGuys Today! Membership is fast and FREE! CLICK HERE to sign up now!

fta using direct tv dish?

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by hanksmith5, Jan 1, 2010.

  1. hanksmith5

    hanksmith5 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello I was given a direct tv dish can I use this to get fta channels? if so what do I need to do? I have reciever no motor or pole attached is a photo of my smaller dish a sighted person took the photo fore me
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    1
    I do not see the picture. It doesn't seem to have been attached to your post.
    You can edit in Advanced mode and attach it, or make a new post to this thread.

    Most DirecTV dishes and DishNetwork dishes are either just too small or on the small side for FTA use.
    If they're 30 inches or more, they may be worth talking about.

    Yes, some people brag about getting certain transponders on 18..20 inch dishes, but that's more for fun than serious.
    And in a few cases, certain programs like Azteca (Spanish language) is on a particularly strong transponder, so even though the viewer cannot get all the programming on a particular satellite, that one signal may be all they want.

    Then, in 98% of the dishes, the circular LNB will need to be replaced with a linear LNB.
    It also has a different LO (Local Oscillator) frequency, as it's built for a different part of the Ku satellite band.
    If you have a dish big enough, that is something we can help you understand and accomplish with ease.
     
    #2
  3. 1ADAM12

    1ADAM12 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Posts:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
    #3
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2010
  4. hanksmith5

    hanksmith5 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello attached is a photo of the small dish my sighted friend took
     

    Attached Files:

    #4
  5. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, I know that dish well. It's a DirecTV Phase III.
    Here is an old thread where I outfitted it with a linear LNB to receive Whitesprings (which is no longer on the air).

    I know I'll get some flack on this but I consider it way too small for general FTA use.
    As I mentioned earlier, if you had some single satellite feed in mind, one that was very strong, it would certainly work.
    However, my conscience would nag me if I were to recommend using it to anyone just starting out.

    . . . Somewhat akin to taking a bicycle on the freeway. :rolleyes:
     
    #5
  6. hanksmith5

    hanksmith5 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks fore the reply and the honest response it is greatly appreciated
     
    #6

Share This Page