Genie start over feature.

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by cappy29, Dec 26, 2012.

  1. cappy29

    cappy29 Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I was looking at the specs for the Genie and was wondering how the start over feature works? According to DIRECTV, if you tune in late to a program say 10 minutes, the specs say you can still go to the start of the program even though you were not tuned to it from the start. So far I cannot see how this works with my HR-34, since I purposely tuned in 5 minutes late to the start of a program and did not have the option to go to the start of it.:confused:
     
    #1
  2. directv newb

    directv newb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Posts:
    108
    Likes Received:
    5
    Don't quote me on this, but this is how mine seems to work. First off, I don't believe all channels or shows have the start over feature, only some. When I switch to a channel or show that has the start over feature there will be a message at the bottom of the screen that says something like "press the < key to start this show from the beggining, now I have never used this feature but I have seen the message several times, but not all the time.
     
    #2
  3. cappy29

    cappy29 Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    You might be right, I could swear I saw that message the other day ago either when I changed a channel or turned the receiver on. I just got done looking through the online manual and saw nothing about this feature, unless by chance I missed it. Sounds like directv needs to give us a list of the channels that can do this, unless it only certain programs and they couldn't then.
     
    #3
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2012
  4. jcrandall

    jcrandall Proud Staff Member
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    9,962
    Likes Received:
    18
    I've seen this when I turn on the receiver, it works off the buffer recording at all times on the last channel used. So if you had CBS tuned, turned it off, came back and turned the receiver on later you should have the option to view the current program from the beginning, if it isn't longer than the recording buffer that is.
     
    #4
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri