OTHER Help With dish alignment.

Codematic

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jun 9, 2019
Boston, ma
Greetings,

I have a surplus AVL 1278 Mobile VSAT antenna that I am trying to get a signal with. Its a 1.2 meter reflector, with an "Offset, Prime Focus" have an EPS-020 LNB on it.

I *think* I have it pointed correctly, but not sure on where to measure the angle from. Should I measure the angle from the exact center of the Dish face ? or Is it from the boom angle ?

Total NOOB here, but have been trying to get it working with a new Amiko HD-265 for two days. I get absolutely nothing, 0% on the level meter, with quality at 6% with the cable disconnected. I'm trying to catch Galaxy 16, since it "seemed" easy...

I must be missing something fundamental here.

Thanks Again,
Screen Shot 2022-03-18 at 8.11.16 PM.png

That’s a funky dish. Is there any published info on the LNB/F? Is it an uplink dish with a transmitter? Might be as simple as the local oscillator frequency being wrong on the receiver. My 1 meter Hughesnet dish with its stock LNB worked at 10760 mhz just like a standard Ku LNBF. Maybe your hooked to the transmitter instead of the receiver LNB?

Reactions: Codematic
To add to the above:

When the dish face is in fact flat ( a string from top to bottom across the dish barely touches a string from left to right ), then the offset angle can be calculated indeed by cos(offsetangle) = width / height (width and height measured on the working (parabolic) area of the dish, so without the rim).
When it is non-flat, two extra measurements (of the depth at the center) are needed.

For Boston, elevation for 99W is 33.5.
Subtract the calculated offset angle from it, and you have the needed elevation angle of the dish face for the correct elevation aiming.

I'd be curious to the proper LO-frequency(ies?) as well.
Frequency range would be 10.95 – 12.75 GHz, according to specs.

Greetz,
A33