Hopper And Joey Wiring Diagrams

Discussion in 'The Hopper Zone' started by sparc, Mar 15, 2012.

  1. sparc

    sparc Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    7
    Starting a new thread now that there are easier to understand Dish pdf files.....

    The first training document uploaded has most of the basics along with some wiring diagrams. The second job aid pdf has a nice overview as well as some different wiring setups.

    I believe the current uploads are the easiest to understand for customers who might want to know beforehand how this will be wired.

    As a caution, most customers should ignore any wiring diagrams that show VIP equipment. Dish is not allowing customers to have mixed equipment. If you want Hopper/Joey, you'll have to give up your old receivers that are on the same account.
     

    Attached Files:

    #1
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2012
  2. sparc

    sparc Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    7
    #2
  3. sparc

    sparc Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    7
    The documents in the main post were sourced from the Dish training site: Dish Tech Portal

    if you want even more documentation and videos, the real techs will want to go there. Just click Weekly Training and 2012

    Again the purposes of this thread was more to help customers who were confused about wiring. There were a lot of misunderstandings of how this will be wired between the hoppers and joeys. (Obviously some customers will want to know in detail how the wiring will needed to be changed or run.)
     
    #3
  4. Joe Satellite Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Posts:
    230
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm continuing to be confused when it shows a system with a VIP receiver (tailgater). Why is this shown when they continue to say this is not possible? I don't get it.
     
    #4
  5. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    31,862
    Likes Received:
    550
    You could own a Tailgater on a separate account, and plug in that ViP211 series DVR in to your dish at home. Also, a renter with a ViP receiver could share the dish with you and your Hopper system. I know if I rented out my downstairs I would not allow the renter to put up an additional dish.
     
    #5
  6. Scherrman

    Scherrman SatelliteGuys Guru
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,558
    Likes Received:
    520
    Because it is only suppose to be for installers to know. There are cases where it may be needed like Navy said.
     
    #6
  7. dustinw82

    dustinw82 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Posts:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    They're not saying it isn't possible. They're saying is isn't allowed without having multiple accounts.
     
    #7
  8. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    3,305
    Likes Received:
    59
    I would like to view the Dish Tech Portal but it needs a password. How can I join? I would like to view a three Hopper / two Joey wiring setup.
     
    #8
  9. TainterGate

    TainterGate Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had a Dish1000+ setup with a 722k and 612. With these available schematics, was able to seamlessly configure/install a 2 Hopper and 1 Joey setup last night. Premise wiring and infrastructure was already in place. This was for all intent, a plug-n-play install! Thanks Folks!!

    Best Regards,

    James
     
    #9
  10. JM42

    JM42 Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    47
    The jobaid and this thread or one of the other similar threads with the attachments should be a sticky.
     
    #10
  11. tedb3rd

    tedb3rd Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Posts:
    337
    Likes Received:
    9
    So it's not a 'technical' limitation... It's Dish refusing to setup something like this on the same account?
     
    #11
  12. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    31,862
    Likes Received:
    550
    Yes.

    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     
    #12
  13. Scherrman

    Scherrman SatelliteGuys Guru
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,558
    Likes Received:
    520
    It's mostly to avoid confusion. If a customer with a mixed setup called Dish with a problem it could make it extremely hard to troubleshoot.
     
    #13
VigLink badge
Sucuri