HR20 Hard Drive Upgrade

Have you upgraded the hard drive in your HR20 or plan to?

• Total voters
Status
Please reply by conversation.

Brewer4

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Mar 12, 2005
Hartford Connecticut
Have you upsized the hard drive on your HR20 (-100 or -700) either internally or via eSATA? Or do you plan on upgrading anytime in the near future?

I plan to, just not sure when ....
I may end up waiting abut 6 months and see what kind of prices are out there for a 1 TB or 1.5 TB set up , definitely External ....

Jimbo

I plan to also when I can get the extra funds. I will be getting the biggest I can find.

I've been very happy with my 750gb FreeAgent Seagate drives. I paid about $300 each when they first came out. I've seen them as low as $219 on sale last month.

More than doubles the storage available.

I'm new to the Mpeg 4 boxes so please bare with me a second.

From the little bit of reading I did in the Living on the edge forum:

If you hook an external drive up, the internal drive does not function, is that correct? Is there any indication that we may someday be able to combine the drives to work together?

I thought I was reading that if you hook an external esata up, the drive formats automatically, does the same thing happen if you replace the internal with a larger drive?

If using the external esata option, how is the response time affected, is everything slower?

Lastly will the external drives work with the regular updates on the HR20-100S, or do you need one of the updates from the living on the edge thing.

1. If you setup eSATA drive, the internal is not accessed. Its still there and anything you recorded is intact but not accessible until you shut down, remove the eSATA, and boot into the internal.