Ironic! Installer can't have Satellite where he lives

ZawNH-VT

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Apr 27, 2004
I'm an installer, I installed systems for everybody else everyday but I'm not allowed to have satellite where I live!!!!!!!!!!!!! :(

I used to be in California then I moved to NH/VT area with my g/f and was able to get a Installation job up here too so the world is perfect. G/F came up here first and got an apartment her self I moved in with her brought my DirecTivo system with me.

I have good sight on my porch area so I installed without permently attached to the building at all then Land Lord said I "can't" have satellite in the building due to insurance reasons.

The way I have it don't damage the building, nobody will trip on it, I even ran the wires under the door ( Not worry about damageing wires I could replace them my self as much as needed). We're on the lease so breach of lease will take our deposit if I want to move to an apartment that OK with dish, I'm on contract with DTV I'll have to breach contract with them. Cable don't offer channels I want or TiVO service.

I read the OTARD ruleing, My installation is in the Gray area of it. because Its installed actually on unfenced porch/step lead on my door.

For sake of arguments I've been just putting the dish out when land lord are not around, night time after they get off work etc etc. Lately winter approaching land lord keep coming over trying to fix heater issues. And I got caught with the dish outside.

So far I told them that FCC said Landlord can't say "Can't Have Satellite" and no where on my lease that said I can't have satellite or I have not seen their insurnace policy that said Can't have satellite in the building. I'm not going to remove my dish until I see the insurance policy that said no satellite system allowed on the building what so ever. He said he will send me the copy of the policy on monday.