Welcome to SatelliteGuys!



Get rid of many of these ads when you become a member of SatelliteGuys Today! Membership is fast and FREE! CLICK HERE to sign up now!

Looking for power multiswitch for FTA

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by kooguy, Jul 6, 2013.

  1. kooguy

    kooguy Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 4 dishes pointing 97w, 95w, 87w, 83w and connected to 3 receivers, using two 4x4 multiswitch (Zinwell and Digiwave), three 2x1 Diseqc. Two of my receivers having cable length more than 75ft and having signal issues with some satellites.

    I'm not sure any non-power switches out there can help my long cable length issue, so I'm looking for power switches design specially for FTA, any recommendations?
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. SatelliteAV

    SatelliteAV SatelliteGuys Family Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    6,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Reliable switch control is often caused by coax or connections. 75 - 100 foot runs are not very long if using the right kind of cable. What type of coax (RG6, RG59, RG11, Etc) ? Are all coax runs using the same cable?

    What type of connections (crimp, compression, screw-on)?

    Are the LNBFs standard or universal type?

    Zinwell switches are some of the best. They are much more reliable if using an external power supply. Digiwave switches can be hit and miss on the quality. The 8x1 DiSEqC are great, but not sure about the 2x1. I would recommend trying a different DiSEqC switch such as the Chieta HD.
     
    #2
  3. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    1
    More questions

    What kind of receivers? All of them. Have you swapped between receivers?
    Which satellites/transponders/channels causing troubles? All S2?
    edit: horizontal or vertical transponders?
    What kind of LNBFs? All dual output?
    What do you mean by "signal issues"?
    .
     
    #3
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2013
  4. SatelliteAV

    SatelliteAV SatelliteGuys Family Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    6,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    To add to Anole's post. Often in multi-STB systems there can be compatibility and interaction issues between the receivers resulting in missing transponders and switching errors.

    Have you tried connecting one STB at a time to determine if the problem exists for one unit or if only problematic when specific STBs are connected?

    Warming: Multi-STB systems often have voltage interaction between the receivers that can cause damage. Measure for voltage potentials between the coax shield and STB chassis and/or ground. I have been bitten and blown-up a STB in a customer's home because of improper electrical wiring.
     
    #4
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2013
  5. kooguy

    kooguy Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for tips...

    What type of connections (crimp, compression, screw-on)?
    Cripm, all RG6
    Signal issues - Zero signal all transponders.

    Are the LNBFs standard or universal type?
    Standard LNBFs, all dual output

    Receivers : 2x Micro HD, 1xOpenBox S9

    97W - 36" dish (Focus brand LNB)
    95W - 31" dish (Focus brand LNB)
    87W - 36" dish (Focus brand LNB)
    83W - 36" dish (Digiwave brand LNB)

    Reception signal good for 97w, 95w,87w like above 75Q, 83W is about 65Q, consistant for three receivers (test them individually) when connected without switches.

    Before I add 83W, I have 4x4 Zinwell, 3x4 Zinwell, no signal issue on all three receivers.

    Then I added 83W, couldn't get a second 4x4 Zinwell locally, so I decided to try a Digiwave 4x4 switch and Digiwave LNB.

    Testing on MicroHD - the one has the shortest cable length has no signal issues (got all channels) on all 4 satellites. MicroHD on another room (>75') has issues like - 3 satellites (95w, 87w, 83w) totally no signals, only 95W came in good. I even swap the MicroHDs, still same issue whenever on cable length over 75'. I have tried to play with swapping satellites on switches, port, connection etc, still no help on room that has cable length exceed 75'. One thing is sure if I keep cable length short like less than 25', everything seems to work like a charm.

    My openbox S9 has the same issue too...

    I think my Digiwave hardward (switch and LNBs) is questionable.

    I have ordered new 4x4 Zinwell switch and will test it out. I may even try a reputable brand 4x1 Diseqc, any good suggestions beside Chieta HD. My local stores mostly carry Digiwave stuff, I'll stay away from those.

    A power switch could be my plan B if things don't work out with new 4x4 Zinwell switch.
     
    #5
  6. madmadworld

    madmadworld SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    4,263
    Likes Received:
    1
    4x1 Diseqc
    most are not well made keep a variety of them about due to this. some Pansats find best the past few years.
    and find the Chieta's are not what they were a few years back.
    the best ones are Span sar 411 but like $50>
     
    #6
  7. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    1
    Somewhere to start

    If I were going to start somewhere, I think the weakest link is the 2x1 diseqc switch.
    Some are easily blown up, if changing cables while powered.

    Power to the 4x4 multiswitches goes through the diseqc, as well as 22khz.
    There might be three different failure modes in the diseqc switch, any one or more of which could shut you down.

    Need to see if you are getting proper voltages to BOTH LNBFs on the selected multiswitch. :)
    The receiver is powering the diseq, one multiswitch, and two dual output LNBFs, at any given time.
    Voltage drop in the diseqc could kill you.


    Edit: continuing on, I see the new 4x4 wasn't compatable.
    Since you are changing it, that will remove another variable.

    And while I don't think it's your problem, I'd like to recommend compression connectors, exclusively.
    There are cheap tools to put them on, and they'll be a lot more secure.

    .
     
    #7
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2013
  8. kooguy

    kooguy Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I always take precaution when handling the switches and Diseqc, power off all my receivers (including unhooked the power cord), follow some good advice from this board. So could be my 2x1 Diseqc not able to handle the load when using that many LNBs.

    Compression connectors - I have the tools, so can give it a try.
    If I can find a good 4x1 Diseqc, will give it a try too.

    I'm thinking the 'EMP-Centauri FTA Switches' like 17x8 or 9x8 given that I have 4 dishes and potential 4 receivers.

    Anyone has experienced with EMP-Centauri FTA switches or something equivalent?
     
    #8
  9. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    1
    Several years ago, Pendragon authored a couple of threads on multiswitch mods.
    While you do not need his mods for your application, his review of the switches was excellent.
    Think they were 4x8, and 5x8.
    One was powered (?), and the other could (?) be.


    Dont have the info in front of me.

    Think one was a Zinwell, sold for use in DrecTV systems.
    So, you could occasionally find them in the wild, for free.

    The one I liked, came with a power supply.
    Bunch of us modded them for use on ortho feeds.
    SWA-48?

    Someone will give brand and links to Pendragon's reviews.
     
    #9
  10. madmadworld

    madmadworld SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    4,263
    Likes Received:
    1
    EMP-Centauri are $$
    and are not as good as Span $$ imo
    for your setup
    would put 4 non powered 3x4 on each dish/lnbf
    and add 4x1 Diseqc to each Receiver
    that would work with 4 Receivers
    good luck

    ps "Standard LNBFs, all dual output"
    you would need rg6 from both outputs of all the lnbf's to the 3x4
     
    #10
  11. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    1
    #11
  12. wallyhts

    wallyhts SatelliteGuys Family Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,560
    Likes Received:
    84
    The zinwell 4x8 model # Sam-4803

    I ordered a sup-2400 to try on the 6x8 I got an idea.
     
    #12
  13. kooguy

    kooguy Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got my 2nd 4x4 Zinwell multiswitch yesterday, that resolve my signal issue on all my receivers. Stay with Zinwell hardware!
     
    #13
  14. wallyhts

    wallyhts SatelliteGuys Family Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,560
    Likes Received:
    84
    Yes I agree.

    It's cheaper now then ever because of all the DTV surplus floating around.
     
    #14

Share This Page