Maximum number of event timers reached (041) error with 942

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by genericman, Jul 23, 2005.

  1. genericman

    genericman Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Dish 942 DVR running software version L2.27. I had about 28 timers in there as of this morning. When I tried to schedule a program to record by highlighting it in the guide and pressing SELECT, I received the error "The Maximum number of event timers has been reached." The message tells me to remove existing timers and try again. I got all the way down to 22 timers before calling support. They were of no help. My only workaround is to soft-reset the 942 by holding the power button down; that makes the problem go away for a while.

    Has anyone else encountered this problem?

    Has anyone any idea about what the maximum number of timers truly is on a Dish 942?

    Thank you for helping this SatelliteGuys newbie out.
     
    #1
  2. Purogamer

    Purogamer SatelliteGuys Family
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Posts:
    2,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, if you didn't get the error after adding the 23rd, 24th, etc...I'd have to say there's no real limit and it was just a glitch in the software (which obviously went away with a soft reset).

    Were all the timers to record, or are some of the just to tune in, remind, etc...

    I'd say keep your timers to around 20 and don't worry about getting the error again.
     
    #2
  3. KKlare

    KKlare SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,335
    Likes Received:
    7
    I can't speak to the 942, but for the 921 I was limited to 64 timers. It was the March Showtime free long weekend with lots of one timers. Programmers usually like powers of two, so maybe 32?
    -Ken
     
    #3
  4. mmcdaid

    mmcdaid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello. I am new to the forum. I've been with Dish for 8 years. I just received my 522 on Wednesday and I am having the same issue with my 522. I got up to 18 timers and then started receiving the 041 error. Deleting timers did not help. Dish support told me to do a front panel reset. I was then able to add some more timers before getting the error again. Another front panel reset and I could add some more. I hope that it is just a software issue that can be fixed. Until then I guess I can just reset any time I need to add a timer. :mad:

    Also, Dish support told me the maximum number of timers on the 522 was 50.
     
    #4
  5. genericman

    genericman Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    All of my timers are to record -- some are Dish Passes ("All shows matching 'Law & Order'"), while others are DVRs ("Record all episodes of 'Home Movies' on Cartoon Network").

    I am still investigating this issue with Dish's techs. When I had my old ReplayTV there was so limit on recording timers, and 20 is not enough to cover the shows and searches that I want to record. Fifty timers seems like a more reasonable limit. I'm just surprised that nobody can give me a straight answer as to how many timers this thing can actually hold. After 20 it's seemingly random as to whether the receiver will let me program a timer in or not.
     
    #5
  6. kesslerm

    kesslerm Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    The limit you are probably running into is the 288 instances of timer events. This is what most people run into and is way to little for 1 1/2 week of events. I believe you have a limit of over 48 timers, but you usually will run into the instances sooner. Complain to Dish (I have). A DVR should have no limit other than the hard drive space. The last thing a DVR should do is tell you that you can't record something.
     
    #6
  7. MikeD-C05

    MikeD-C05 Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Posts:
    15,836
    Likes Received:
    322
    I don't use Dish passes for anything much at all. I create them from the guide and limit the amount that the timer will create. I keep like one of each show and the new one will record over the oldest one. I keep all my timers down to either new episodes , weekly , Mon- Friday, or once. Dish passes create timers for the entire satellite system. Meaning that if you like Seinfeld it will record all shows on any channel in the satellite system. This will create way to many timers. Maybe if you limit the dishpass to one channel it will lessen the amount of timers created.
     
    #7
  8. genericman

    genericman Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aha! I had exactly 288 programs slated to record when this problem was coming up. I'm trying to get back in touch with Dish's tech team, but right now I'm just playing phone tag with them.

    Thank you for helping me uncover the root of this problem.
     
    #8
  9. Slyster

    Slyster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    You CAN have more than 50 timers on a 522... I currently have 67. I had a timer issue like the thread suggests... but it just went away after enough HD diagnostics... and time.. about a week.
     
    #9
VigLink badge
Sucuri