Welcome to SatelliteGuys!



Get rid of many of these ads when you become a member of SatelliteGuys Today! Membership is fast and FREE! CLICK HERE to sign up now!

Multi SWM design questions

Discussion in 'The DIRECTV Forum' started by ekgermann, Jul 7, 2009.

  1. ekgermann

    ekgermann Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm looking to do a self install of SWM technology, mainly to move towards each of the kids having their own DVR. With MRV, the whole idea of them recording their own stuff and then watching any-to-any is pretty appealing.

    In thinking thru the whole SWM thing, there is a potential for 6-7 DVR's, which means 12-16 slots in use. Obviously, that means 2 x SWM-8 minimum.

    Some of the locations have Cat-5 for networking (MRV enabled, works and rocks), several don't.

    I've read the talk about doing MRV on SWM via MoCA and it's appealing. Right now, I'm not SWM and use the "split the feed off the 4 sat cables before they go to the multiswitch" technique with two multiswitches.

    If I were to invest in SWM-8's and a SWM-E2 or -E4, do they pass the data traffic BETWEEN SWM's? My presumption is one of the IRD/DVR's is attached to a network connection and acts as a bridge/proxy to the coax side. Would I need to plan on a data cable to one IRD per SWM-8 to bridge the sides together or would the "upstream side" of the E2/4 do it?

    Is the E2 or E4 essentially just a sexily packaged group of multiple splitters/diplexers and mounting unit for the -8, or does it have a little more intelligence than that? If so, I might as well stick with the splitters already in place and make sure I match up the ports.

    Running Cat5 to the remaining couple of locations isn't a major issue and I have the ports on the switch, but the concept of slinging it on Coax seems a lot cleaner from an install point of view, plus gives the option of moving it to other coax in the house rooms without having to plant a data jack there.

    Thoughts?

    EKG
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. Bob Nielsen

    Bob Nielsen Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's been rumored that networking via the SWM and coax is coming but no details have been released. MoCA equipment uses the same frequencies as SWM, so some changes would be needed and it is unknown if that would require any replacement of hardware (a MoCA-like system using frequencies below those used by SWM would probably be the easiest implementation).

    Apparently there is a way for a non-networked DVR to report PPV purposes via communication via the SWM to a networked or phone-equipped DVR, but I haven't seen any details. Of course, that requires very little bandwidth compared to MRV, etc.
     
    #2
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2009
  3. JosephB

    JosephB Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Posts:
    996
    Likes Received:
    0
    No details about the MRV/Networking over SWM have been released, but I would be extremely surprised if you had two SWM-8s and it passed information between them. SWM-8 switches are meant for MDU installations which are by design meant to be isolated. I would just run some CAT5 to each location so that you a) don't have to wait for SWM networking and b) will know for sure it will work
     
    #3
  4. cfb

    cfb Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Posts:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    1
    Maybe I'm missing something, but with 6-7 receivers, wouldnt you just need one swm-8?

    Only one wire from the swm to each receiver.
     
    #4
  5. jdspencer

    jdspencer SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Posts:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    4
    True, but each DVR has two tuners and thus is assigned two SWM channels. Thus, a need for 2 SWM8s.
     
    #5
  6. twizt3dkitty

    twizt3dkitty SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    29
    each dvr counts as 2
     
    #6
  7. Feild Supervisor DTV

    Feild Supervisor DTV New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can stack 2 SWM splitters, only using one power unit. Just make sure your first SWM splitter has the power ran to it.
     
    #7
  8. dfergie

    dfergie Proud Staff Member Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    72,491
    Likes Received:
    267
    Moved to Technical as not CE related... :)
     
    #8
  9. cfb

    cfb Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Posts:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks, I learn something new every day. I havent had a chance to play with a SWM yet, but I'd been thinking of getting a SWM5 to get rid of the bbc's and simplify my wiring a little bit.
     
    #9
  10. Bob Nielsen

    Bob Nielsen Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a SWM5, but they are fairly rare (Directv dropped them shortly after introducing the SWM8). You would have better luck finding a SWM8 or switching to a SWM LNB (which is the least expensive option).
     
    #10
  11. cfb

    cfb Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Posts:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    1
    You're absolutely right. I looked around and found both SWM-8's and SWM-5's for ~$80-85 each. Cheaper than I thought they'd be. Doesnt look like you save much getting a used one.

    Looks like the SWM-8 attaches to the regular LNB and I dont need an LNB change, or do I have that completely wrong?
     
    #11
  12. jdspencer

    jdspencer SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Posts:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    4
    The SWM8 is connected to all four outputs from the regular LNB.

    The only reason to swap the LNB is to get the SWM version with one output. This simplifies wiring, but it is limited to just 8 tuners.
     
    #12
  13. cfb

    cfb Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Posts:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nice. Looks like ~$80-90 either to put an external swm-8 or the LNB replacement. Its a hell of a long reach from the side of my house on a ladder to get to the lnb. But fewer parts is a good thing.
     
    #13

Share This Page