Need help with equipment selection: FTA + DirecTV (w/HD) + toroidal dish

Status
Please reply by conversation.

apsinkus

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jan 17, 2008
I am an absolute newbie to FTA. I am thinking about consolidating my soon to arrive DirecTV HD with FTA into one dish.

Here is what I am trying to accomplish:
  • Static FTA+DirecTV system feeding 1X FTA and 2X DirecTV receivers
  • Quality receiver with PVR capability (I will provide my own USB HD)
  • All I care about is good reception of Galaxy 25 and DirecTV with HD
  • I live in Boston, if that matters
What do I have coming:
Receivers - 1X DirecTV HD DVR 1X H20
Dish - hell knows, yet to get it
LNBs - same deal, yet to receive them, I assume won't work on T55 or T90

To be purchased:
FTA Receiver-PVR - Captiveworks CW-800S
Dish - Wave Frontier Toroidal T90 (or should I stick with T55?)
LNBs - package comes with 3X M20R (reversed Dual-LNB). I assume 2X M20R will be for DirecTV than I need to buy 1X C10R for DirecTV and 1X Z10L for Galaxy 25?

What do you think about my equipment selection?

Last edited:
Pointing LNBs on T90 toroidal dish

I am writing everything down as I am preparing to get FTA + DirecTV setup.

So I would have to position LNBs at 79W for Galaxy 25, than 101W, 110W, and 119W. Any others needed to get full DirecTV with HD and HD Local?

Dish will be toroidal.

I'm not sure, but I think you will need Reversed Circular lnbf's for 110 & 119. I don't have a clue what D* uses on 101, but I'm thinking maybe a KA lnbf? All this is speculation on my part, but the one thing I'm the most sure about, is don't use the same Cable/Line for D* and FTA. Keep them separated!

Al

You will need the t90, since the t55 will be too small for g25. The lnbf's included will probably not work with your DTV boxes, they will need reversed lnbf's on any torroidal dish.

Sat 101 and 119 will each require a reversed lnbf, sat g25 will require a standard linear lnbf.