Please reply by conversation.

tedb3rd

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Pub Member / Supporter
Lifetime Supporter
Feb 27, 2006
Rome, Georgia, United States
I am having a few problems and I'm thinking it's something I'm just stupidly overlooking because I'm new to FTA satellite. I have installed dozens of DirectTV, DishNetwork systems on houses, boats, and marinas (for myself and buddies), but never anything with FTA.

Here is my setup:
-Coolsat 6100 Private
-RG-6 cable running directly to Moteck SG-2100 motor (approx 100ft)
-RG-6 cable from motor to Zintech Dual Polarity LNBF (ZKF-F22N)
-Winegard DS-2076 Dish
(SatBuddy Satellite meter for signal strength testing)

Here are the specs on the LNB:
RF 11.70-12.20 GHz
IF 950-1450 MHz
L.O. 10/750 GHz

*checked level of pole, good from all angles
*checked level of motor mount, good from all angles
*checked arc of motor using meter, it goes up and down as it should all the way across the line-of-site horizon (ranges from 0 when no sat, peaks in 70-90s when pointed to a satellite)
*"Level" indicator on receiver is 80-85%

My southern most satellite where I am is 87W. I was able to lock onto that quality was in the 68-73 range. I did a blind scan according to the instructions w/the receiver but I only get one radio station. Off of 103W, I get 2 or 3 stations (looked like some sports from a CBS station somewhere) but no audio (other feeds are detected but they are scrambled, not true FTA). Here are my problems: