Only getting a few channels on Galaxy 19

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by allencltnc, Sep 6, 2013.

  1. allencltnc

    allencltnc Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is my first FTA Project, so please bear with me if I have forgotten something.

    I got everything setup, and am pointed at Galaxy 19, but am only getting 5 Video Channels and 2 Audio Channels.

    Here is my Setup

    • Digiwave DWM-80T 31in Dish from Sadoun
    • Sadoun KUL1 - Single Linear LNBF
    • Winegard Tripod Mount (Waiting on my motor to get in before I can mount it on my NPRM out on a concrete slab)
    • MicroHD DVBS2 Receiver (Code Updated to 2013-6-26 via USB)
    • All RG6 cabling

    Here is my Location Info:

    • US Zip Code: 29102
    • Elevation: 47.0°
    • Azimuth (true): 208.7°
    • Azimuth (magn.): 216.3°

    I did a Blind Scan with the following criteria

    • Single Satellite Search
    • Scan Type: All Channels
    • Scan Channels: TV + Radio
    • Network Search: No
    • Scan Mode: Blind Scan - Normal
    • Symbol Rate: All
    • Polarity: Auto

    Using my signal meter I was able to 90% Signal and 73% Quality on most of the channels I picked up

    TV Channels

    • Pentagon SD AC3 - 11824/H/20000
    • $Backhaul Channel - 11824/H/20000
    • Pentagon HD - 11824/H/20000
    • Pentagon SD - 11824/H/20000
    • TRWAM -12124/V/30000
    • BVN - 12124/V/30000

    Audio Channels

    • Radio Maryja - 12124/V/30000
    • BVN Rvi 1 Radio - 12124/V/30000
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. northgeorgia

    northgeorgia SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    54
    You did great! The only thing is you're pointed at 101W, not 97W...so just ease it east a bit more :)
     
    #2
  3. danristheman

    danristheman Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    951
    Likes Received:
    56
    You are at 101w SES-1. Bud you need to move over 4 degrees to the east with your dish just move it slightly just watch your transponders ok.

    Dan Rose
     
    #3
  4. xtgold

    xtgold Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    13
    I use 11789v 28125 to aim
     
    #4
  5. northgeorgia

    northgeorgia SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    54
    Actually, if you already have it pointed at 101W, go ahead and scan that in on 101W on your receiver. It will help you later on with aiming, especially when your motor gets in. By the way, welcome to Satellite Guys!
     
    #5
  6. allencltnc

    allencltnc Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ack, That would explain it! Thanks everyone for your advice! Will give that a try when it's daylight again :)

    BTW, so glad to be part of this site, I've been wanting to do this for years and I finally got the chance!!
     
    #6
  7. Vinnie

    Vinnie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, you're very close. I setup a Ku motorized FTA dish for the first time in February and I was surprised at how little you have to move the dish before it's aimed at another satellite it seemed less than inches in any given direction. A little movement is all it takes.

    When you install a motor adjust carefully to maximize reception once you found your true south satellite in order to get the best signals possible across the arc.
     
    #7
  8. ke4est

    ke4est Long Live FTA
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    16,540
    Likes Received:
    247
    Welcome to the site!!
     
    #8
  9. allencltnc

    allencltnc Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good Morning,

    Well this morning I was only able to hit 101W, 99W and 95W. I noticed that my Tripod was not staying level as the grass and dirt were soft. After an hour of going back and forth (and having to go visit family an hour away and I'm leaving tonight) I decided to just wait a couple of weeks on my motor. Then I can mount this on the concrete pad in the backyard! Thanks again for all of your help, and i'll keep you posted on my final setup once it's done (and then maybe a BUD system in the near future!)


    Thanks,

    Allen
     
    #9
  10. northgeorgia

    northgeorgia SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    54
    That's very good. You're getting a feel of how very little spacing there is between the satellites. For a motorized setup, you will definitely have to have a stable, plumb mount. You will get 97W in no time if you picked up both 95 and 99 :)
     
    #10

Share This Page

VigLink badge
Sucuri