picked up a free complete system...have a few questions

Status
Please reply by conversation.

eewizard

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Apr 24, 2005
Beaumont, TX
I am completely new to c-band systems so if i word anything wrong please correct me.... :)

I came across an online ad for a free c-band system and went and picked it up today. It came with a 10 foot aluminum mesh dish (looked new), c-band/ku lnb, motor, arm (guess that's what you call it), and a HTS Tracker System V receiver. All I need to buy according to the guy who gave it to me is a new pole to mount it on and new wires to run to the house.

1st: did I do good getting this system for free? what would the "going rate" be for a working system like this?

2nd: was he correct in stating that this is all i should need to get it up and running? (i have a hurt back right now so i'm gonna be taking my time getting the dish mounted and setup)

3rd: does anyone by any chance know any details about this receiver (HTS Tracker System V) or maybe have a copy of the manual they could send me?

4th: What can i expect to receive with this setup "as is" and if I decide to will I be able to subscribe to a service with it?

5th: Does anyone have any recommended upgrades I could add to this system that would make it better?

thanks.... :)

FREE is always good, even if it ends up not working it cost you nothing.

What feedhorn and LNBs are with it?

Does the receiver have the decoder module in it?

If yes, what color is the decoder module?

You will need clear line of sight approx SA - SW.

What do you want to pickup?

You will need to mount a 3.5" sech40 steel post / 7' - 8' tall, about 3' - 4' into the ground with a gravel drain bottom and concrete. Once the dish is mounted on that post you will need to setup the dish to track the arc of the satellites.

there is an "empty" space you can view through the back of the receiver. Is that where a decoder module should be if one was there?