Renaming a Domain

Neutron

Founding Supporter
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Nov 7, 2003
Texas
My wife's company is small, with only one server/one domain. Her boss wants to rename their domain.

They are on Server 2003 Small Business Edition. Their one and only server is of course the domain controller that hosts their active directory and files.

What all is involved in renaming their domain? I know I will need for all of their workstations to join the new domain. Will everyone lose their profiles?

Profiles on thier local box? or in Active Directory?

I think as long as the login name is the same they will keep all their local profile information. I have never done this before so don't take this as 100% accurate.

Why the change? Did he name it after a former girlfriend?

We devoted a great deal of thought to coming up with network.local! ;)

We devoted a great deal of thought to coming up with network.local! ;)

Our company domain is what were called 2 incarnations/bankrupt companies ago, well before my time. With 700 workstations and a shrinking IT staff i am not about to make my guys change it.

Its quite doable with time in a 2003 domain (though not SBS) but with Exchange/Sharepoint adding to the mix it gets messy.

With SBS you need to start all over again unfortunately, but then that has its upsides if you need to redesign anyway.

Only if they want to pay you to do that. I hope this isn't a "freebie"

Oh trust me, he will pay for me to do this. :) Like when I installed his server a year and a half ago, I will charge him a flat fee vs my normal hourly fee. This is only fair to him as I don't know if there will be an issue or not.

Couple of the caveats i can think of:

Sign workstations off domain into a workgroup (and make sure you have local admin pass).