scored a swan fm-1210-a 2m tranciever for free, got a few Qs

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

ynnedibanez

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Dec 7, 2009
Greeneville, Tennessee
hey everybody, I'm still really new to this, so I may be wrong, but it seems like this radio won't do ctcss?
I have to plug crystals to change frequency on receive and transmit. it has a dial with positions for 12 frequencies on receive and 12 frequencies on transmit.
I also have a wouxon kg-uv3d handheld, so I tested the swan with simplex and it works, but if it doesn't do ctcss, then simplex is all its good for isn't it?
so in that case, it would basically just be parts, or an antenna tester, or can it be modded to do anything really neat?

thanks for any help for a new ham :)

Look at this post. http://forums.qrz.com/index.php?threads/radios-galore.437810/
It looks like the unit has separate xmit and recv xtals. That means you can get xtals for repeater offset.
Manual available to purchase: http://www.vintagemanuals.com/manual/Swan/FM-1210-A
You can add ctss easily enough, but why?

IMO though, new 2M radios are so inexpensive that you would exceed the price of a new one just in crystals. And have a better unit with more power to boot.
This unit is only interesting from a historical standpoint.

thanks for the info!
it already has a ton of crystals in it.
there’s also some components that are not hooked to anything mounted to the back of the door for the cavity that the crystals are in.
any idea what is going on there?

Attachments

• 20170222_143647.jpg
    20170222_143647.jpg
    40.4 KB · Views: 238