Welcome to SatelliteGuys!



Get rid of many of these ads when you become a member of SatelliteGuys Today! Membership is fast and FREE! CLICK HERE to sign up now!

User's Manual for Orasat 5.0

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by bloomdog, Feb 24, 2008.

  1. bloomdog

    bloomdog Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Posts:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone have the User's Manual for the Orasat 5.0? Does anyone know where I can find one?
    Thanks to all!!:confused:
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. bloomdog

    bloomdog Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Posts:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just bought this receiver for $11 plus $10 shipping on e#b#y. Figured I would have little to lose as I want a reciever which i can take out to the dish for precise aiming. ANyway, it does not have a blind scan (I am spoiled by my Coolsats). Is there some way to shove the channels into the receiver via software like CM? I have never used CM before so any instructions would be helpful. BTW, still cannot find a user's guide online.
     
    #2
  3. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    1
    I searched last night, and didn't find a manual, either.
    It's hacker bait, and looks like a kissing-cousin to the Satpros.
    Possibly imported by the same no-support organization.

    I doubt you'll really need a manual.
    They never say much anyhow.
    If you've used a receiver before, this one will work fine for ya.

    The Satpros weren't known for a meter that made for easy alignment.
    Hope your Orasat is better.
    If nothing else, it'll be fine as a spare receiver, or a dedicated NASA receiver, or for the kids, or a mother-in-law box.

    As for satellite channels, it should have most of the common birds.
    Putting in one transponder with the remote should not be a problem, if it doesn't have a transponder list.

    Oh, and one other thing.
    The current firmware in it probably has bandstacked support!
    ... if you should ever go that way. - ;)
     
    #3
  4. Tron

    Tron SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    6,590
    Likes Received:
    1
    The Satpros has the worst meter I've ever encountered, as well as poor motor control. As Anole said, hacker bait. If you find that the Orasat and Satpros are the same receiver, but the firmware for the Orasat is better (faster meter and fixed motor control), that might present some interesting possibilities.
     
    #4
  5. lumpkin666

    lumpkin666 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Posts:
    941
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ditto!
     
    #5
  6. bloomdog

    bloomdog Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Posts:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is "bandstacked support

    Thanks for the info. and the efforts taken--much obliged.

    What is "bandstacked support"?:)
     
    #6
  7. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    1
    hack joke

    In the Dish world, it'd be called: DishPro
    However, the generic term is bandstacked.

    It just uses 18..20 volts on the LNB at all times (lets you run longer coax) and puts both Vert and Horiz transponders on the wire at the same time.
    It uses more bandwidth to do so, but that's okay.
    Another advantage, is that since you have both polarities available on one wire all the time, it's easier to share to multiple receivers.

    ... and while very useful to us FTAers (do a search for some good work by JerryT) it was a joke about that being a hacker box. - :rolleyes:
     
    #7

Share This Page