Using a 1920x1080 LED computer monitor for directv

Discussion in 'The DIRECTV Forum' started by hundabal, Apr 1, 2011.

  1. hundabal

    hundabal Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let me start with saying that I have searched the web up and down and even though there are similar post all over, nothing matches exactly what I wish to do.

    I had to move my computer/office into the bedroom with the arrival of our second child. This meant that I also lost our bedroom TV (no room for both!). I would like to buy a good LED monitor to use as my desktop computer monitor, but also as a TV to view directv programing.

    I do NOT wish to use my computer itself to watch DirecTV in any way! I only wish to use the same LCD monitor for dual purposes, and not necessarily at the same time either. If I find the right 1920x1080 monitor that has both DVI (for the computer) and HDMI (for the directv receiver) inputs and audio outputs (or built in speakers), can I hook a directv HD/DVR receiver directly to the monitor to watch DVR and live programing? Will I still need a digital TV tuner, either built in to the monitor, or externally?

    If so, how would I switch between the two of them (beyond the obvious: don't have both of them on at the same time). Since it isn't an actual TV, I don't think I can select a different input like I do with a TV to switch from Directv programing and a DVD player for instance.

    I do play a lot of computer games, so the monitor would be used more for the computer than for Directv programing.

    Or...am I going about this the wrong way, and should just get a HDTV instead and use it for my computer monitor?

    Any advice would be much appreciated!
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. thecomputerguy

    thecomputerguy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Certainly you can do this. You switch between the inputs by using the controls builtin to the monitor. The Directv DVR provides the tuner. The setup works exactly like it would with a TV/DVR setup, especially if your monitor has speakers builtin.
     
    #2
  3. charper1

    charper1 Bourbon Tester
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    18,443
    Likes Received:
    1
    make sure the TV you get is PC compatible. back in the day just being a "flat panel" didn't make it so but today it likely is not an issue. also make sure it has multiple inputs you can use. otherwise you can you a switcher or a A/V head-unit which would also provide much better sound and multi-channel audio to boot
     
    #3
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2011
  4. Blueridge66

    Blueridge66 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Posts:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have this 23" Samsung in our bedroom. One of it's inputs is PC. I'm not using as a monitor. It was approx. $200 @ Costco. A 27" was also available with the same inputs but was too large for my setup. I have both DTV (HDMI) and outside antenna inputs in use.
    23" LCD HDTV Monitor | Samsung B2330HD
     
    #4
  5. bebop

    bebop Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use a LCD HDTV for my main TV and computer monitor. It works great. You just have to press the input button to change between satellite and computer views. I also run both through my home stereo and it sounds great. I'd rather do that than watch satellite on a monitor meant for a computer, but some are quite nice these days.
     
    #5
  6. charper1

    charper1 Bourbon Tester
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    18,443
    Likes Received:
    1

    Can you please post the link for the $200 ish 27"? I am interested. Do these have built-in ATSC tuner(s)? I paid $165 for my 25" PC monitor so this sparks my curiosity if it has tuner(s) as well.
     
    #6
  7. Blueridge66

    Blueridge66 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Posts:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    It has an ATSC tuner as well as a NTSC tuner. There's a few low power stations around plus I've got the 23" at our cabin. The local Phx stations are rebroadcast on the UHF analog channels out of Flagstaff
    Costo shows it being out of stock. If this doesn't work: http://www.costco.com/Browse/Produc...=2&Ntx=mode matchallpartial&Nty=1&topnav=&s=1
    Then try: Costco.com: Offering thousands of items you won search on samsung then I chose items in the $100-$500 range. The 23" & 27" are both out of stock but should be in the list. I actually bought ours at their warehouse store. The 23" shows $219 but I recall there was a coupon with $20 or $30 off. We've had it for less than a year.
     
    #7
  8. charper1

    charper1 Bourbon Tester
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    18,443
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK thanks. I may have mis-read your post I thought you got the 27" for $200
     
    #8
  9. KimmiKat

    KimmiKat Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Posts:
    663
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using a Samsung 27 incher for my monitor in the office, which is also hooked up to the cable, so I can pop CNN if I see a newsworthy event on the web somewhere.
     
    #9

Share This Page

VigLink badge
Sucuri