Why this newbie went with HD DVD

AJMiami

Original poster
Jul 9, 2007
I'm a newbie and has found a lot of great information on this site. I've been lurking for 2-3 weeks. Let me share my story, so you can related on what new people maybe thinking regarding the format war and HiDef.

I consider myself a hybrid between an early adopter and a mass consumer (more toward the later). I don't rush out to buy the latest and greatest, but I like to be aware of technology and what is the next big thing. (buying when prices come down significantly).

I purchased my first 42" HDTV 1080p LCD recently and that prompted me to go with Dish Network and explore HiDef players.

I wasn't planning on buying a player, but the current Toshiba A2 HD DVD for $250 was to hard to resist. I did a bit of research and it seems that blue ray is winning the battle, but I felt HD DVD still has air left. Initial cost of ownership was the big deciding factor for me. In addition, I subscribe to Netflix and being able to rent on HD made the decision a lot easier. I don't plan to create a library of HD DVDs, so I see my risk very low at this point. I may buy a bd player later on, if they come down in price to the A2 level.

the way I see it. I feel is way to premature to declare a winner, and maybe both formats will lose at the end. Who knows. . . I feel this fight is on the 3 round, and blue ray have one round advantage (2 to 1). But there are still 9 more rounds.

IMHO, The two formats is delaying adoption for mass market, since the consumer is confused and may see risk going with either format at this point. That may not be good long term, if this war lingers for too long. Multi format players may be the answer for mass consumer adoption, if they reach the 200s dollar level.

anyways, those are my 2c