Wiring question. Help!

Barley

Original poster
Jul 23, 2004
Hello,

I'm a newbie and am ready to make the jump to a satellite provider, but have some questions about wiring that I'm hoping someone can help me with because I'd like to try the install myself.

I just moved into my new house, 3 months ago, and am trying to figure out the history of the coaxial cables running throughout. The house is 7 years old and I know for a fact that the first owner had a dish installed. I also know that the second owner had Comcast digital cable installed. (We are the third owners.)

Now in all of the rooms that have coaxial hookups (on a faceplate in the wall) there are 2 hookups on each faceplate. Behind each faceplate there are 2 coaxial wires going through the walls (looks like a clean install). There is also another cable run from the closet (looks like a crap install) to one of these same rooms. When I moved in, I hooked up my 4 year old Sony (analog) tv to see if anything was coming through the (closet) wires. Lo and behold, there was a cable signal that I could see on my tv w/o any decoder box, but couldn't pick up anything on the wall hookups. After 2 weeks then the cable was shut off, so it's hard for me to determine exactly what cables and hookups are receiving anything at all.

I also have a downstairs closet that has the source of the wiring, from the outside. Some cable is black (labeled "RG6") and some is white (not labeled at all) with multiple signal splitters. I know that if I have RG6 throughout, I should be good to go.

Is there an easy way to tell (on the cable that is not labeled) if I have RG6 running throughout my house? (e.g.....Will RG6 cables use different splitters or end plugs?) Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

You will just have to make sure that there are no splitters in between the dish and the receiver and that it is RG-6 wiring if DishPro and/or switches are to be used.