Yet another noob trying to set up ViewSat Extreme

Status
Please reply by conversation.

realife

Original poster
Nov 17, 2006
I am so glad I found you guys thanks to my gosatellite.com

I am a real noob for that I have no idea how any of this stuff works and I have been spend some time reading through this forum.

Unfortunly I have a viewsat 2000 extreme, stab HH90, with a fortec FC-90 with a invacom QPH-031 quad 4 lnb, 4X1 diseqc switch. I'm in Las VEgas NV 89123.

use Satellite finder I came up with

Las Vegas, NV 89123
Latitude 36° 2.298'N Longitude 115° 8.722'W

Which SAT in closest to me , where do I set latitude on rotor and satallite and which way do I point it. USe USALS or Disequ 1.2 setup??????

Thank you for the help, I look forward in time to be able to help others..

Last edited:
You're making this more complicated than it has to be, just a couple of things you aren't thinking through, you have the answers already. Your longitude is 115, so what is closest to that? Satmex at 116.8. You point just a hint west of true south. Latitude on the motor is set to your latitude, 36.

USALS is easiest for beginners, but that may not be the case with a Viewsat, you may not get either way to work at all for you.

I told you all I'm a noob!! :(
I did as you suggested and I used the USALS to move the motor. but Im still not getting any % on Q and only 56% on S. What's next?

SATELLITE: SatMax
LNB POWER: (On)
LNB TYPE: (Standard)
LNB HIGH: ?
LNB LOW 10750
TP Freq. ??
SEARCH OPTION: (FTA)
DiSEqC 1.0 (none)
MOTOR: (Off)