is it just me or was ces bad news for everyone?

korsjs

Welcome To SatelliteGuys
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Jan 25, 2004
Land O Lakes, FL
topic is the question.

to me, ces did not benefit consumers, just providers and other big companies. the avearge people are the ones that lost out.

am i wrong or right.

Yes, and the big Google revelation, no new technology or products, just a different business model for delivering what Apple already successfully has pioneered. What a waste of time!

Even though we are battling over technical details that the average doesn't know or care about; I think Dish's presentations with making Dish HD the forefront of their business kinda like Voom was is a very positive step and a big move forward in making HDTV the norm in programming.

I've been renting a Comcast DVR for 9 months waiting to see what DISH and D* are going to offer in the way of HD.
You are right - in this case no news was bad news. The D* reps said, flat out, no new HD - just a bunch of locals will be added wasting yet more bandwidth. The excuse is, people want their locals delivered by what ever provider they use - be it cable or sat.

The HD DVR (MPEG4) to get any of the new channels that may be added won't be out for several months. They are selling a plain MPEG4 box in the meantime.

DISH isn't adding anything substantial in the way of HD except for ESPN2 and a few of the old VOOM channels. They don't offer any of the premium HD channels except for HBO and SHO. Both D* and DISH have only one HD PPV channel.

Bottom line - since neither DISH or D*aren't really progressing w. HD - might just uupgrade our BEV (Canadian DBS) box to the DVR. Unlike the two U.S. companies, BEV carries HD PBS, WB, UPN. Even our local Comcast cable doesn't carry all the local HD - altho they do carry PBS HD. Comcast has no real HD PPV channel. BEV has 4 carrying mostly new movies.

...mike

BFG said: