A more exotic setup

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Jam3s

SatelliteGuys Pro
May 24, 2008
I'm getting ready to add my DirecTV service to my houseboat. I've been installing for a couple of years now, so I know my way around some of the hardware, but there's a lot about SWM that I'm still discovering.

I need to have a dish at the dock, preferably using an SLS5 SWM lnb, and then I'll also want a tracker (VuQube, etc.) on the boat for when I'm not docked. Is there a SWM splitter with a legacy input on it? I really don't want to use the old SWM equipment that has to have all four wires coming off of the Dish, because I'll have limited room to run wires on the dock, and the weather is a bit more harsh on the lake then on land. Any ideas?

Jimbo

SatelliteGuys Master
Lifetime Supporter
Cutting Edge
Jul 14, 2005
NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
I'm getting ready to add my DirecTV service to my houseboat. I've been installing for a couple of years now, so I know my way around some of the hardware, but there's a lot about SWM that I'm still discovering.

I need to have a dish at the dock, preferably using an SLS5 SWM lnb, and then I'll also want a tracker (VuQube, etc.) on the boat for when I'm not docked. Is there a SWM splitter with a legacy input on it? I really don't want to use the old SWM equipment that has to have all four wires coming off of the Dish, because I'll have limited room to run wires on the dock, and the weather is a bit more harsh on the lake then on land. Any ideas?

So, you'll have a dish at the DOCK as well as a VU Cube on board ? You'll disconnect when ever your going out for a boat ride ?

The VU Cube will not give you any HD, if thats important to you (unless they've come out with a new one ).

Why not just use the VU Cube all the time ?

Do you really NEED the SWM on this set up ?

Jam3s

SatelliteGuys Pro
May 24, 2008