?? about peaking a slimline.

Status
Please reply by conversation.

gokartergo

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jun 28, 2010
Ca
New here and need some help.. First off I am a installer for dish network.. So I understand dish. But I now nothing about directv. My dad has directv. Every time it gets stormy or windy he looses only his HD channels..This has happened sice his install a year ago. He has really high signal strenghts on 101 and 110 and 119 . But 103 ca and 99c are really low. Now with dish I need to put my super buddy on 119 and the number one port and peak it out. What do I do for directv. I really think that the skew might just be off.. I haven't looked at it yet.. I will be tomorrow..any help is much appreciated.

Can you post your numbers on the 99 and 103.
I've never needed a meter to get mid 90's- 100.

If you have someone watching the signal meters, go out to the dish and lightly apply a slight amount of pressure on the top side of the dish and check signals and then both sides, chances are your slightly off, if either of these slight adjustments increase your SS, use the dithering screws to move in the correct direction.
Once you get better signal, be sure to check the others to make sure you haven't lost signal in other areas.

If you're getting strong signals on 101W, 110W and 119W, skew is NOT the issue.

Suggestions:

Make sure the base is solid
Insure that there are two solidly mounted "monopoles".
Dither the elevation.

If you're getting strong signals on 101W, 110W and 119W, skew is NOT the issue.

Getting strong numbers on 101, 110, and 119 doesn't mean that skew isn't an issue, since the ka sats require finer tuning, although it is probably okay. I do agree that either dithering or more likely azimuth is the problem. Come to think of it, isn't dithering really a fine adjustment of the skew?

Come to think of it, isn't dithering really a fine adjustment of the skew?