Adding more dishes

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by N3KTH, Jan 6, 2013.

  1. N3KTH

    N3KTH Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since I'm talking about adding more dishes (to reduce rotor movement) anyone think this one would be big enough to use as a Stationary FTA dish pointed at one Sat??? It's a freebee (and I never turn those down)...
     

    Attached Files:

    #1
  2. kodaz

    kodaz Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Posts:
    531
    Likes Received:
    10
    it doesnt look very large. The way things are going these days, a 36 inch round would be a good starting number.
    old primestars with the original lnb feed would be ok too.
     
    #2
  3. N3KTH

    N3KTH Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    I currently have a 31" motorized dish that I use, and it is indeed "marginal"... I do get all the sats, but get a much lower signal than my friend with a 36" (and I lose sats in the rain)... OK, I was just hoping I could maybe add this one and it would maybe work for one bird... Scrap pile!
     
    #3
  4. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,766
    Likes Received:
    422
    it will work fine....a few folks have used them here. Its 36x24"
    Yeah its on the small side but will work with the stronger transponders

    Make sure you use the correct LNB. One on there is FSS (usually the one down the middle) and the DBS one is offset.

    Heck there have been folks who used both LNB slots for KU sats 6 degrees apart
     
    #4
  5. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    1
    Go for it.
    Of all the junk DBS dishes people find in their roof, and want to use, that's actually a fine one. :)

    I think the stock LNB is Standard, & voltage controlled for V/H.
    If a single output is what you want, you're done.
    You could bolt on a bandstacked DishNetwork, or any other physically compatible LNB.

    The important thing is to retain that feedhorn on that dish.
    Should get you all of 97 (unless I forgot something). ;)
     
    #5
  6. FaT Air

    FaT Air HOA Free Zone
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    136
    There's a label on that LNB. What's it say?? It might be usable.
    If so, and if in my possession I'd aim it at 97W and see what it does.
     
    #6
  7. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,766
    Likes Received:
    422
    The LNB looks like the stock 95 LNB (KU) that comes with the dish. The 101 LNB (which is missing) is an old school Directv LNB normally
     
    #7
  8. northgeorgia

    northgeorgia SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    67
    I agree. Looks like the standard LNB is already on there, and the missing one is the one that would have been for the directv channels. I have a dish like this, but it's all warped and I believe the lnbs are dead after years of abuse in the weather. Haven't gotten it to work yet....
     
    #8
  9. WesTheTinkerer

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    All of the DirecTV dishes here in my area of Huntsvegas(Huntsville), Al are are mostly Slimlines. I'd like to get a'hold of some of those just for the LNBs. Which areas of the U.S. are these more common?-Wes :)
     
    #9
  10. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't understand the question.
    The World Direct is much more rare than the Slimline.
    And there are no desirable LNBs on Slimlines.
     
    #10
  11. Magic Static

    Magic Static SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,990
    Likes Received:
    121
    I don't know where they use those World Direct dishes. I've never seen one around here. Lots of Slimlines though, and as Anole said those LNBs are worthless.
     
    #11
  12. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,766
    Likes Received:
    422
    The World dishes are only installed if the customer subscribes to International (non English or Spanish) programming so its not like they're around everywhere. I guess if you went to a part of town that has a bunch of folks who might sub to those packages (Chinese, Korean, Mandarin, Russian, etc) you might have better odds

    We have one here at the apartment complex because we have some Russian folks. So on the roof we have both a slimline 5 and a 95W dish
     
    #12
  13. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    1
    needed to clear the cobwebs

    Sorry - I didn't understand your question at 5am.
    Now, it makes a lot more sense.
    Ya wanted more World dishes for their LNBFs?

    I wouldn't be too concerned.
    That LNB is probably just average.
    The feedhorn matches (that) elliptical dish.
    Yes, you could mix 'n match components to make up something special.
    But I wouldn't design/build around a rare component, with so many other choices available.

    On the other hand, if you DID find a cache of World dishes, I'd put 'em up for any bird with only DVB-S .
    Skip the hard-to-get S2 stuff. Or at least test it last.
    97•w and 30•w might be good candidates. ;)
    Just remember to skew the dish.
     
    #13
  14. Borisov-54

    Borisov-54 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Posts:
    81
    Likes Received:
    15
    Антенна - = N3KT=

    Антенна - = N3KT = В Европе-Россия антенна- = Multifocus = хорошо работает с 5-8 LNB.
    Мультифокусн-0.85м.jpg ант.Герм.jpg мультиф ант.JPG
     
    #14
  15. N3KTH

    N3KTH Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Man that looks fantastic, But let me see if I can get it working on 1 Bird LOL!!!!!! I'd love to have multiple LNB's on 1 dish but let me see if I can get one going with my limited skills :) Here's what I got. I never have worked with a DBS type dish before so I guess here are my questions?

    1. Will This LNB work?
    2. How do I set the 2 adjustments for 97?
    3. WHat type of LNB is this and how do I set on the receiver...

    Sorry if questions are basic and overly simple...
     

    Attached Files:

    • x1.jpg
      x1.jpg
      File size:
      1.3 MB
      Views:
      38
    • x2.jpg
      x2.jpg
      File size:
      1.3 MB
      Views:
      29
    • x3.jpg
      x3.jpg
      File size:
      1.2 MB
      Views:
      29
    #15
  16. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,766
    Likes Received:
    422
    1. yes
    2. elevation and skew? You actually skew the dish...whatever it shows as skew on dishpointer or the list, take from 90. So if it says +20 then it would be 110 or 70 (depending on how it looks on the back of the dish)
    3. SINGLE or STANDARD and LNB LO 10750
     
    #16
  17. N3KTH

    N3KTH Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, At the risk of sounding like a total idiot, can we go over #2 again????
     
    #17
  18. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,766
    Likes Received:
    422
    looking at that 3rd pic if the satellite is to the west of you then skew the dish to the right (so numbers go up)
    if its east of you then skew the opposite way

    exception to the rule is 103W ;)
     
    #18
  19. N3KTH

    N3KTH Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK So then, sitting here in the Pittsburgh area (~ 79.9 W) the skew would be about 80????????
     
    #19
  20. N3KTH

    N3KTH Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK So then, sitting here in the Pittsburgh area (~ 79.9 W) the skew would be about 80????????

    NO NO NO Thats stupid... It's the sat at 97 I'm going for.. SOOO CONFUSED!
     
    #20
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri