Big Dish Houston

Discussion in 'C-BAND Satellite Discussion' started by gatocaribe, Sep 19, 2005.

  1. gatocaribe

    gatocaribe Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just move a 10' dish with only a c band lnb and after planting pole and puting everything toghether i get nothing. I left all the adjustments alone and i thought that by not touching declination and inclination all i had to do was just aim the dish in the same dirrection it was before i moved it. I am using a monterey 90 receiver (i think is analog althoug it ha a ku input). I get nothing but snow and is 105 degrees F in here. Please Help!!!!.


    Thanks in advance


    GAtocaribe From Houston


    Ps I moved the dish from about 10 blocks away.
     
    #1
  2. Diamond Jim

    Diamond Jim SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Posts:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds logical, but I think you would have to have the pole the exact same height out of the ground as before, then who's to say that the elevation is the same from where you moved it. My neighbors yard is 6 inches higher than mine so if I moved it over there I would have to start from scratch. Think how much difference that would make 22,000 away. It's possible that I may be moving, so I have been thinking about the same thing.
     
    #2
  3. tofer

    tofer Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    It would take a pretty big elevation change to get zero signal, and an arc is an arc. If you dont believe you have connection problems, try to turn the sat mount on the pole with the set bolts loose. Dont make any changes on the reciever because it was already set up and should still work. Pretty much a two person job if you dont have a signal meter. Never goes well with a wife!
     
    #3
  4. iammike

    iammike Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Posts:
    954
    Likes Received:
    0
    You may have already tried this, but if possible you should take a tv and your receiver out to the dish so that you can see the picture while making adjustments. I've been playing with a dish for the last couple weeks, and pretty small adjustments can make a big difference. It's really handy being able to watch the tv while moving the dish. I'm not familiar with your receiver, but on mine you can put it into a scan mode where it cycles through all the transponders. First on vertical and then on horizontal polarity. When I was first playing with mine, I found the scan mode very useful for finding signals. When I would get the first inkling of a signal, I'd stop the scan and put the receiver on that transponder and then fine tune the dish position until I had a good picture. One other thought, since you're not touching the elevation, at the other house the dish may have been tuned to a satellite that doesn't have any analog channels just digital. Since you're not changing the elevation, there may only be one satellite that you can get a signal from. If that one doesn't have analog, you wouldn't get a signal.
     
    #4
  5. gatocaribe

    gatocaribe Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I got a new cable from lnb to receiver and still nothing.I have not change any of the settings on the receiver but i still got snow. The receiver is on galaxie 5 looking for trynity net which is the last sat and channel watch before removing it.

    Please keep hitting me with ideas. As of right now i am suspecting lnb. I am planning to buy an adaptor and install the invacom qpf 031 which is a dual (linear and circular lnb) and that way i will get all digital channels together with a pansat 3500. But i want to get this baby adjusted withs receiver and c band analog lnb


    Thanks guys keep helping cause i need all the help i can get


    Gatocaribe
     
    #5
  6. iammike

    iammike Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Posts:
    954
    Likes Received:
    0
    Might check that the skew on your lnbf is correct for your location. I believe it should be positive 40.9 for Houston. Also, make sure your receiver is looking for transponder 3 vertical to get Trinity.
     
    #6
  7. drhydro

    drhydro Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,572
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure your pole is perfectly plumb. Also make sure the mount is perfectly plumb. Do you have a signal meter? They can make all the difference in aiming a dish. A decent cheap satellite meter is the sf-95, they can be found for under $10 plus shipping.
     
    #7
  8. gatocaribe

    gatocaribe Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bud In Houston

    No I dont have a meter going to get one this week. (now with this storm i might have to wait till next week). The pole is perfect i check and rechesk wile cementing it to the ground.

    I have been thinking; tell me if i am on the right track. I am going to get the invacom lnb which as you may know is linear and circular. I am ordering the adapter plate for the dish and i am going to install it. After i do that i am going to aim the dish towards 110 or any dtv sat. I have a subscription to dtv and by hooking it yo my dtv receiver i should be able to get a signal with it untill i get the pansat 3500.


    You think it will work?


    Thanks for all the help.

    Gato caribe
     
    #8
  9. drhydro

    drhydro Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,572
    Likes Received:
    0
    That should work just fine. Do you happen to know what sat the dish was originally aimed at? If you can point it at that sat you should be very close to getting the whole arc with just a little fine tuning.
     
    #9
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri