C Band dish removal questions

Status
Please reply by conversation.

WCSD

Original poster
Aug 24, 2016
California
Hey everyone, this is my first post. I'm a general contractor and I partner with a satellite dish removal company that subcontracts work out in my area that usually has me remove the smaller dishes like HD's and Slimlines, etc. Actually I don't know much about satellite dishes at all, I mainly do carpentry but remove dishes on the weekends for extra cash. Maybe you guys can help answer a couple questions.

The removal company sent me a lead for a job that involves removing a C Band dish from a second-story, including the pole down to grade. My two main concerns are electrical and weight. The smaller dishes I'm used to removing are low voltage and just get terminated where they enter the home. What voltage should I expect on this C Band dish? Doing electrical work isn't that much of a concern, I want to know ahead of time in case I need to plan on installing a junction box or if there is any complicated high voltage I am unaware of associated with C Band dishes.

My main concern though is weight. I don't have a helper for these projects and have to plan ahead. What do these usually weigh? Even a rough number is fine, I realize different brands weigh differently but does it weigh 100 lbs? 200? 400? I have no idea. Do they usually bolt together and come apart easily or are they one-piece? I can use my sawzall and cut it into fifty pieces if I need to.

Here is a picture I was sent of the dish. Any advice you guys can give would be helpful. Sorry I can't give any specific information about brand, material, size.. Thanks in advance!

untitled.png

Brian would be able to help you more than I can but I save those dishes you can get free programming on them better than what you get on Dish or Directv. Welcome to the site also.