Status
Please reply by conversation.

cpalmer2k

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Lifetime Supporter
Oct 18, 2013
United States
Forgive me for my ignorance, but I've perused the posts and lists here but can't find a set answer to a question I have.

I'm a history teacher, and am tired of DirecTV's poor SD quality feeds of C-SPAN. Is it possible to receive C-SPAN's 3 networks (C-SPAN, C-SPAN2, and C-SPAN3) in HD with a FTA setup?

I'm pondering picking up a FTA system and know someone who can install it, but I wanted to see if these might be options before I looked into it further?

Forgive me for my ignorance, but I've perused the posts and lists here but can't find a set answer to a question I have.
I'm a history teacher, and am tired of DirecTV's poor SD quality feeds of C-SPAN. Is it possible to receive C-SPAN's 3 networks (C-SPAN, C-SPAN2, and C-SPAN3) in HD with a FTA setup?
I'm pondering picking up a FTA system and know someone who can install it, but I wanted to see if these might be options before I looked into it further?
I believe the only C-Span channel that is in the clear on FTA is the original C-Span analog on 131W. You would need an old analog setup to get it and there's no guarantee how long it will be there. Most analog channels are gone now (I think there are only two left) with the conversion to digital broadcasting.:(

Is it possible to receive C-SPAN's 3 networks (C-SPAN, C-SPAN2, and C-SPAN3) in HD with a FTA setup?
I doubt that will ever happen as the owner of the broadcast rights* is a consortium of cable/satellite companies. IIRR the full 3 channels are DCII** and if they are 'in the clear' it would require a DCII receiver that has a good receiver ID #. (I don't have one - so will have to wait for someone that does - to fill in that blank. If not 'in the clear, it's not available, without a subscription service.