DISH and Amazon deliver Alexa voice control on Hopper DVR

Discussion in 'The Hopper Zone' started by Scott Greczkowski, Jan 3, 2017.

  1. navychop

    navychopMember of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    39,192
    Likes Received:
    4,684
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Because Marketing says so!
     

  2. wkomorow

    wkomorowPub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    753
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Berkshire, MA
    I am already doing this using 3rd party integration - home-seer with an itach box. It works really well. Except when I asked Alexa to turn on me tv. She did not respond as expected, when I innocently said Alexa turn me on. It will be nice to use direct integration, except I expect that it will not control volume or tv on and off as I can now. Wonder if a subscription to something from dish will be needed -a premium integration subscription.
     
  3. eddie willers

    eddie willersSatelliteGuys God

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Posts:
    391
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Braselton, Ga.
    Not well. (or I need to do it again)
     
  4. jasonh1965

    jasonh1965SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Posts:
    49
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Salem, IN
    I'm currently using an Xbox One with Kinect to voice control many things on my TV and H3, including turning it on and off, volume changes, and DVR commands like pause, play, rewind, skip forward and backwards. Hopefully Alexa will be another way to do this. I'm enjoying integrating more and more into my smart home.
     
  5. mdwhite3

    mdwhite3Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Sign me up for the beta. I've got the Echo, Echo Dots, and a Hopper 3.
     
  6. jackdemcak

    jackdemcakSatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Posts:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Rancho Palos Verdes
    Alexa can turn on or turn off and any Activity you defined for a Harmony Hub. If you have an activity named Dish TV, simply say "Alexa turn on Dish TV" and your equipment will respond as if you touched the Dish TV Activity screen on your Harmony remote.
     
  7. klang

    klangSatelliteGuys God
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Posts:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    It will also tune to specific stations. About the only thing I noticed missing is volume control.
     
  8. nsafreak

    nsafreakSatelliteGuys God

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Posts:
    523
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Denver,Co
    Volume control is already present as well. I simply say, "Alexa tell Harmony to <increase the volume/decrease the volume/mute the volume>
     
  9. wkomorow

    wkomorowPub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    753
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Berkshire, MA
    Thinking more about this, I am wondering if this will work off the Alexa API or will be a skill set. The difference is that the API processes what it hears and sends a command to the 3rd party system. The skill set can simply send the utterance to the 3rd party which can parse it there. This is significant for two reasons. One if it uses the Alexa API, then there needs to be vocabulary development. New phrases like "turn to" need to be added. These in turn can be used by other developers to integrate other AV systems. Second, it determines the phraseology. For an API, you could say, Alexa turn on ESPN. For a skill set you need to invoke the name of the skill - Alexa tell Hopper to turn on ESPN. Given that Dish is working on voice recognition, I am thinking this will be a skill set. The positive there is that it will significantly reduce the amount of development time, Dish would just need to set up a secure server and feed the commands into their current development of the voice control.
     
  10. ZandarKoad

    ZandarKoadAmish Satellite Technician
    Pub Member / Supporter Corporate Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Posts:
    2,438
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
  11. klang

    klangSatelliteGuys God
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Posts:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    After a little research, there are actually two Harmony skills. The one I have been using takes the command 'Alexa turn on the TV'. That one only supports 'Turn On' and 'Turn Off' commands. The other skill supports other functions but requires 'Alexa tell Harmony to.....'.
     
  12. navychop

    navychopMember of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    39,192
    Likes Received:
    4,684
    Location:
    Northern VA
    So the Harmony Hub is needed, not just a Harmony remote. Sigh.
     
    klang likes this.
  13. klang

    klangSatelliteGuys God
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Posts:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    No idea what the differences are between these, I have the Ultimate Home.

     
  14. wkomorow

    wkomorowPub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    753
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Berkshire, MA
    Yes but alexa gives you a price and asks for confirmation before ordering. What I don't u understand is why it ignores commands I alexa commercials.
     
    TheKrell likes this.
  15. wkomorow

    wkomorowPub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    753
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Berkshire, MA
    I know nothing about the harmony integration. However it sounds like the first uses the API, the second a skill, probably using json to process. If Dish is actually integrating into the API , this will result in an increase in the vocabulary of the API . What this means is in the future this could be ported to the harmony interface of the API. This would expand what you could do without invoking the phrase tell harmony to. But my guess is they are working on a skill.
     
  16. wkomorow

    wkomorowPub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    753
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Berkshire, MA
    Sorry, I dictated this via my fire and it altered my sentence. It should read: Yes, but Alexa gives you a price and asks for confirmation before ordering. What I don't understand is why it ignores commands in alexa commercials.
     
  17. syphix

    syphixSatelliteGuys God

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Posts:
    367
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    As exciting as Amazon Alexa integration is (I'd be more excited for Google Home), I'd be MORE excited if this led to an Amazon Prime Video app on the Hopper.
     

SatelliteGuys
All Posts / Content © 2003 - 2016 SatelliteGuys.US - All Rights Reserved
Creative Commons License
All Trademarks, Trade names and Registered Trademarks are property of their respective companies.

Sucuri
VigLink badge