Dish Network and their many dishes...

gtsg1098

Original poster
May 10, 2015
Iowa
Hello everyone,
I am new to this page and to the world of satellite communications, as well. I switched from Mediacom cable to Dish Network in February and I love it! I have been paying attention to the various satellite dishes on houses and have noticed differences between them that confuse me. My brand new dish is black with "Dish HD" branding. The word "Dish" is red and the "HD" is white. It also has two feed horns (I'm fairly certain this means it's receiving signals from two satellites, correct?) I believe I am pointed at the 61.5 orbital location because the "What's on DISH?" channel says just that. Are there two satellites at that location? Am I pointed at two different orbital locations at the same time? My neighbors have a dish similar to mine but theirs has 3 feed horns and has a white "DISH" and a red "HD". I would greatly appreciate any knowledge or feedback as I love learning about this stuff.
Thanks!

A dish with three Feedhorns is either used to pick up the 110, 119, and 129 Satellites or it is being used to pick up 61.5, 72.7, and 77.
So why does my dish look at 61.5 and 72.7 and my next door neighbor looks at 61.5, 72.7, AND 77? That's what's confusing! Does it have anything to do with the age of the dish or the number of channels they subscribe to?

So why does my dish look at 61.5 and 72.7 and my next door neighbor looks at 61.5, 72.7, AND 77? That's what's confusing! Does it have anything to do with the age of the dish or the number of channels they subscribe to?
What satellites you pick up could have to do with the type of programming you are subscribed to.

Reactions: gtsg1098