Dumb question regarding transponders,

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Tony-d

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
May 19, 2015
Fl
When I do a blind scan I get transponder reports that look like.

1234 / 1234 / H or V what do the numbers represent?

Thanks

Your first number is the frequency of the transponder. Think of it like 104.1 FM on your radio dial. Which is 104.100 MHz. So if you get something like 12180 on Ku, that would be 12,180 MHz or 12.180 GHz. H or V stands for Horizontal and Vertical. This is the orientation of the antenna on the satellite. The last number is the Symbol rate of the transponder, which is like the baud rate. You can read more on that here.

Great forum.

Considered this a "dumb question" for years but now feel comfortable to open up with this.....

Not exactly a newbie here. Did a blind scan with my 8Dtek receiver of 113W C band, got station Excelsior TV. Switched over to my Amiko HD, did same scan, but no Excelsior TV. What gives? Next, got the TP parameters for Excelsior TV from the 8Dtek (confirmed by looking in Lyngsat), inputted those into the Amiko, did a TP scan, no signal. Repeated this a couple of times to confirm. Just can't get the Amiko HD SE to receive Excelsior TV. TP is 3845/h/2399 (as per 8Dtek), but also tried 3843/h/2400 (as per Lyngsat).

Exact same dish, LNB, coax, etc., but two different receivers, one gets Excelsior TV, one does not. Experienced this in the past, different results swapping different receivers. Both receivers MPEG II and IV capable.

Maybe I have to manually input the PID, etc? Thanks!

Great forum.

Considered this a "dumb question" for years but now feel comfortable to open up with this.....