Front Projection Help?

JAG72

SatelliteGuys Master
Original poster
Feb 16, 2006
Earth
I am looking at putting in a front projection system in our basement for a new HD theater room. The projector will be placed about 10' from the screen and I would like to be able to produce a 100" picture.

Questions

1) Will 10' be far enough back to produce a 100" picture? I could possibly go back further but a support beam is around 12' from where the screen would be placed.

2) Looking at the following three projectors. Looking at keeping costs down as this is going to be primarily for the kids to play their games and watch a some movies on. Of course I will also have to use it to watch my HD sports on. :D

Mitsubishi - DLP Home Theater Projector - HC1500

Sony - 3LCD HD Home Theater Projector - VPL-AW10

If you have any other ideas in the same price range I would be grateful for other suggestions.

3) As I am really new to the front projection systems what type of screen should I be looking for?

Thanks in advance for all your help on this subject.

Pj

Do you prefer DLP or LCD? You need to determine that first. The Sony will give you a 104" max. image from 10'. But the Mits. will only give you an 84" max. image from 10'. The Mits. will give a 100" image from 12'. There's a calculator at Projectorcentral.com for these numbers. The beam may not be a problem. How tall is your ceiling, and what is the clearance below beam?

I really don't have a preference on DLP or LCD right now. The ceiling is 7 1/2' with about 6 7/8' under the beam. I also have a total of 12 1/2' from the wall to where the beam starts. I could get about 11' of distance from the screen without a problem. I was just trying to keep it further out for ventilation.

What kind of screen do you want? Manual, electric, tensioned, portable, etc. I am partial to the DaLite High Contrast Matte White version.