How to split the satellite signal to feed 2 receivers connected to one TV?

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by dnaren, Oct 29, 2006.

  1. dnaren

    dnaren Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an active/subscribed Dish 500 system and I would like to know what is the best FTA receiver to use (along with my existing dish network setup)? I am leaning towards Viewsat 2000 Ultra

    There is one cable outlet and can I just use a splitter and feed both the Dish receiver (Vip211) and the FTA receiver at the same time? I am planning to connect both the receivers to the same TV (one through HDMI and another through Component).

    Please let me know if I need to provide more information.

    Thanks in advance.
     
    #1
  2. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,447
    Likes Received:
    365
    #2
  3. dnaren

    dnaren Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the link. I am interested in getting sports/international channels. It looks like I need to run a seperate cable between a new dish and the FTA receiver. I will not be able to do that immediately.

    In the mean time, I am interested in experimenting with whatever I get on Dish 500. If Gol TV is available, that will be nice. My constraint is - feeding two receivers with one cable (carrying the Satellite signal).
     
    #3
  4. PSB

    PSB On vacation

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    A dedicated RG6 coax run is definitely recommended for FTA.

    So you Have a Dish subscription and a DirecTV subscription and now you will be adding FTA :)
     
    #4
  5. dnaren

    dnaren Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have DirecTV subscription any more. I got out of it with no penalty :)

    I am very happy with Dish and the Off-air UHF antenna.
     
    #5
  6. Inno

    Inno Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Splitting the one cable to two receivers is not an option..........the receiver selects the left or the right side of the lnb by putting 13VDC or 18VDC thru the cable. If you're on a channel that reqires the left side and you go to switch the other receiver to a channel that requires the right side, you'll lost signal on the other receiver. In other words, the 18V will override the 13 and you'll only get one side of the LNB available. You have to run an additional cable.........if you don't have another available output on your LNB you may also need a multi switch. How many receivers are hooked up to your dish? And what type of LNB does the dish have?
     
    #6
VigLink badge
Sucuri