Judge Lets Broadcasters' Claims Against Dish Network Proceed in California

TheForce

SatelliteGuys Master
Supporting Founder
Pub Member / Supporter
Oct 13, 2003
Jacksonville, FL, Earth
And this is just a ridiculous defense in the current day. They can't call it "free" tv if they turn around and charge Dish and other service providers to re-transmit their shows. They are double-dipping and then have the gall to try and cry foul. That is just lunacy.

Try it your way and sabotage the revenue stream for Broadcast TV and see where that lands you? Fool!

Hey! I've been saying the 30 second spot is obsolete for 20 years but the industry refuses to embrace the many new ways we developed in the TV-Shopper show I co produced over 15 years running. We reduced the 30 second spot to that of the program genre only, one per break, integrated the spot with the show content, and sold ad revenue real estate area of the screen as a lower third running throughout the program. None of our methods could be deleted with AutoHop or 30 second skip. When TIVO first hit we created these methods and sold the ads based on this fact it was immune to the skip. But the "Free" TV broadcast model never embraced it because it was too radical a change. I feel if AutoHop wins the case and the TV Broadcasters see their revenue hit, then you will get these new forms of advertising that you will have no control over. Either that or the "Free" TV as you know it will be a thing of the past. History, like NTSC TV. Every channel, will have an access fee, every program will be like itunes and you will pay for each. Don't cut off your nose to spite your face.