KAJF vs KCMN... same tower location but reception issues

Discussion in 'Digital Over the Air Television Talk By RabbitEars' started by comfortably_numb, Dec 25, 2016.

  1. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic StarterSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    960
    Likes Received:
    357
    Location:
    MO/KS
    KAJF and KCMN are two Low Power DTV America stations in Kansas City. From what I see on rabbitears, the towers are in the same location and have the same wattage. However, I can only ever pick up KAJF. I never get so much as a blip from KCMN. Anybody know what's up? I emailed the company but of course they don't respond.


    Sent from my iPhone using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  2. Mgsports

    MgsportsSatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Posts:
    124
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Overland park
    Can you pick up KCKS-LD another low power station? They will be others in the future.
     
  3. waylew

    waylewSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Posts:
    2,037
    Likes Received:
    541
    Location:
    northern new york
    May not have the same beam patterns or, even tho they are licensed for Xnumber of watts they might not be using it all.
     
    truckracer and comfortably_numb like this.
  4. neil_kc1

    neil_kc1SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    KANSAS CITY AREA
    I have the same problem, according to rabbit ears they have the same coverage area but are located at different heights. See my post above for more details?
     
    truckracer and comfortably_numb like this.
  5. harshness

    harshnessSatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    11,795
    Likes Received:
    743
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Understand that the higher the RF frequency, the higher the power required to get it out. The effective power of KCMN is less because the frequency is a good bit higher (614MHz vs 482MHz). For example, at 7 miles this works out to about a 2.7dB difference.

    There's also the consideration of the gain profile of your antenna.

    Finally (and not particularly likely), there's also the issue that KCMN is adjacent to channel 37 that is reserved for radio astronomy that may be active in your area.
     
  6. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic StarterSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    960
    Likes Received:
    357
    Location:
    MO/KS
    I received the following email from Irwin at DTV America, irwin@dtvamerica.com. He asks that anyone having issues with the KCMN signal please email him with the following information:

    Exact addresses where reception has failed,

    Type of antenna used (outdoor or indoor),

    Directional or omnidirectional antenna.

    Maybe we will get to the bottom of this soon.


    Sent from my iPhone using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  7. neil_kc1

    neil_kc1SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    KANSAS CITY AREA
    Great message comfortably, i think they must be working on it, or the weather is helping, because the past 2 days I have had a watchable signal out here in Odessa. (East of Kansas City)
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  8. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic StarterSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    960
    Likes Received:
    357
    Location:
    MO/KS
    Just received the following email from DTV America:

    "Good morning Kansas City viewers,

    DTV America will be facilitating maintenance work on our tower over the next few days, continuing through the weekend. Please be aware that there may be outages during this time. We apologize for this temporary inconvenience, but look forward to continuing to provide you with excellent quality programming!

    Thank you,

    Renee"
     
    truckracer likes this.
  9. Mgsports

    MgsportsSatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Posts:
    124
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Overland park
  10. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic StarterSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    960
    Likes Received:
    357
    Location:
    MO/KS
  11. Mgsports

    MgsportsSatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Posts:
    124
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Overland park
  12. Mgsports

    MgsportsSatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Posts:
    124
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Overland park
  13. Suffy_Bummers

    Suffy_BummersNew Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    I can pickup KCMN, but not KAJF. I just wish that I knew why on Heroes & Icons, (42.2) that the station is running a banner at the bottom about rescanning because KHIZ is moving to channel 2 (or 3, i can't remember which) December 1st.
     
  14. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic StarterSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    960
    Likes Received:
    357
    Location:
    MO/KS
    They've obviously got something out of whack!
     
All Posts / Content © 2003 - 2016 SatelliteGuys.US - All Rights Reserved
Creative Commons License
All Trademarks, Trade names and Registered Trademarks are property of their respective companies.

Sucuri
VigLink badge