May have fried my brand new Coolsat 6000

Status
Please reply by conversation.

dougbrown

SatelliteGuys Guru
Original poster
Mar 31, 2005
Southern WI
While I'm new to FTA, I am not new to the skies, I have a 20 year old Radio Shack 9ft dish in the back yard that has served me faithfully. In fact it's still using the original positioning motor! It has a Chaparral Corotor II with fairly modern linear C & KU lnb's. My primary reciever is a 4DTV 922. I recently acquired a Coolsat 6000 and slaved it into the existing system with splitters and a diseQc switch. I have been having some problems getting the diseQc switch to switch between the two lnb's. I placed terminators on the open ports on the switch but to no avail. I've also tried two different diseQc 's. Any suggestions on getting the switch to switch?
Then last night I decided to reset the database and start all over again. Now after doing so,the machine will boot up and it will load the menu, but I can no longer get into the satellite settings, when I try it basically reboots the machine. I'm thinking about re-flashing the firmware, but am not to sure that will fix the problem. Which brings me to my next point, In the FTA equipment review area of this forum a user has posted channel maps and some utilities for the Coolsat 6000. I have to assume that these are within the bounds of "No Hack Talk"? Any ways the utility STBTool.exe looks like the tool to use for flashing the original factory firmware back on to the machine. However when I try to test the process and open the application the upload bullet on the firmware tab is disabled, naturally I assumed this was because no file had been selected, but even after selecting a file(the correct file for this update) the bullet remains disabled. So how am I to upload the firmware back onto the machine? and, If I do reload the firmware will it fix the menuing problem? Or did I get one of the POS Coolsats that I've been reading about? help.......