Multiple Satellite connection

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by giovanni1, Aug 21, 2009.

  1. giovanni1

    giovanni1 Thread Starter Member

    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently I have 2 lines coming in the house from a stationary dish. There is a 4x1 disec switch attached to both (so 4 Dual LNB's). I would like to add a motorized dish and leave the existing LNB's where they are (for other TV's in the house).

    So hopefully, one TV with a Viewsat will be able to get fed from both dishes, and leave the others.

    How do I feed the new motorized dish into my existing full 4x1 switch?
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. walrus1957

    walrus1957 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Posts:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    It has always been strongly recomended that the coax run to the motor first then out of the motor to the diseqc switch. However I discovered that the Sg2100 and the DG280 motors can be feed straight from the diseqc switch and works for me.

    However, I found that if you try to run two seperate motors from the diseqc or an SW21 switch and you have an SG2100 motor that it will slave regardless witch switch port is selected. The DG280 and similiar motors do not exhibit this problem. So if you decide to purchase a motorized dish I recomend the DG280 or similiar, that way you can add a second motorized dish to your diseqc if desired.

    I have my receiver set up this way:
    From my Coolsat to a 4x1 diseqc, port 1 goes to my C-band mini dish and a DG280 motor, port 2 to my 76cm KU dish with DG280 motor (on the KU dish from the motor I have an SW21 that selects either the linear or circular port of an Invacom QPH-031 lnb). Port three of the diseqc goes to a single point fixed dish that I have to get the only in the clear channel from circular BEV at 91W, and port 4 of the diseqc to a dish 500 for 110/119 for Pax TV and Nasa. This setup works great for me, do not see why this can not work with a Vioewsat or similiar FTA receiver.
  3. walrus1957

    walrus1957 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Posts:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, did not realize you had a full 4x1 already, just add an SW21 switch ahead of your 4X1, then run one port to the 4x1 and the other port of the SW21 to the motor. And again the experts say this is not recomended. But I have tested this configurtion and it works. Others have tried this as well with no problems.

    My only recomendation is to purchase a quality Dish Network SW21 switch, the cheap replacements do not work!
  4. giovanni1

    giovanni1 Thread Starter Member

    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is the SW21 switch compatible with FTA receivers? All my receivers are FTA.
    I have always thought that those switches were for bell/dishnet usage. I thought that the 22KHZ switch were the ones to use for FTA.

    If I can use the SW21 switch, how is it set up in my receivers menu for it to decide wich path to take when switching sats on the viewsat?
  5. Babadem

    Babadem Active SatelliteGuys Member Pub Member / Supporter

    Posts:
    1,916
    Likes Received:
    2
    Unless your receiver has Option for "Legacy SW21", it may not work properly.
  6. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Guru

    Posts:
    11,818
    Likes Received:
    1
    alternative (Ecoda 22khz):

    Most receivers do not support SW21 switches, in factory firmware.
    If you replace a receiver in the future, there is little likelihood that it'll operate in your switch matrix.

    Here is an alternative suggested in another thread, which may be of help.
    You can start reading at my post, then continue in the thread from there.
    Took a while to remember this trick - and it's up to you, if you think appropriate. - ;)
  7. walrus1957

    walrus1957 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Posts:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I recall correctly all Viewsat receivers are capatable with the legacy SW21 switches. But it is possible with the original firmware it is not. I installed a third party software for my Coolsat receivers so that the SW21 option was availible. Just select your dish setting in menu to see if you have the option, should be listed as legacy SW.
  8. giovanni1

    giovanni1 Thread Starter Member

    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes...

    When I look at the menu there is a Legacy Switch option with a list of a whole bunch of different switches to pick from. SW21 is one of them.

    So with that option picked in the menu, this means I can use an SW21 switch and then from there I can feed both dishes.

    One port of the SW21 will be with a 4x1 Disecq switch fed from the 4 staionary LNB's, and the other will be fed straight to the motorized dish?

    Does that sound right?
  9. walrus1957

    walrus1957 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Posts:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is correct! You can also run an additional diseqc 4x1 off the second port of the SW21 if you want, and then run one port of the second diseqc to the motor which frees up 3 additional ports for future expansion if you choose to. Either way will work.

    Just make sure you purchase a genuine DN SW21 switch and not the cheap knock offs as they will not last running motor current through them. I have been using a Dish Network SW21 in the same configuration as discribed for over two years with no problems. I also have a 120 foot cable run from the receiver out to the dish where the SW21 and Diseqc are located at the dish, so line loss is not a issue with switch port selection. The motors I have run off this configuration are the SG2100 and DG280, LNBs used are Dish Pros, Invacoms and GeoSat C2.
  10. giovanni1

    giovanni1 Thread Starter Member

    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Walrus!

    If you have a minute, could you possibly go through each setting with me on the menu? I just want to make sure what the differences will be for the stationary dish and the motorized dish.

    Thanks!
  11. walrus1957

    walrus1957 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Posts:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are welcome! Sent you a PM.

Share This Page

Links monetized by VigLink
Sucuri