Need Remote Expert Help! URC7960

Discussion in 'The Hopper Zone' started by deerewright, May 31, 2012.

  1. deerewright

    deerewright Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just purchased an URC7960 from the UK so I could get the PS3 adapter. I have my xsight touch set up to use the ps3 adapter by copying the keys over from the 7960. I want to use the 7960 with my hopper/joey, but none of the Dish/Echostar codes supplied in the manual work, nor any from the UK website. I have tried to enter the typical Dish codes, 0775, 1505, 1775, but it will not accept any of those codes. Am I SOL? I know I how to copy key functions, but the 7960 only has about 100 key memory?, so I would rather have an equipment code that will work.

    Also, anyone know of a code I could use in my ARXX18G Xsight Touch for the 7960's PS3 Bluetooth adapter?

    Thanks for any help anyone can give.
     
    #1
  2. n0qcu

    n0qcu Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    42
    Did you turn on the IR remote function on your Hopper?
    Yellow - 6
     
    #2
  3. deerewright

    deerewright Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I've been using my Xsight touch with the Hopper.
     
    #3
  4. mdavej

    mdavej Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Posts:
    814
    Likes Received:
    8
    Our resident JP1 expert already explained this in great detail in another forum. But that UK remote does not have Dish codes or even a protocol that would work with advanced codes. If you like that model, why not buy the US version that does have Dish codes? It's less than $30 most places. And why not buy/build a JP1 cable for it and load the Dish protocol. That can be done for around $5.

    The 18G works fine with the 7960's PS3 adapter. Any sony blu-ray or DVD code should work. They were listed in the adapter manual last time I checked.
     
    #4
  5. deerewright

    deerewright Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks mdavej, I think you helped me out in another forum... I purchased a URC 9910 a few years back with the intention of getting into JP1 - an extension of my Tiv* modifying ;), but never got there. Am now thinking about ordering/building a cable to get going again.

    I bought the UK version mostly for the PS3 adapter, but I'm using my xsight for the main TV, PS3, Hopper, DVD-VCR. I just wanted to use the 7960 for the bedroom TV, Joey. If I buy another remote at this point, I won't be sleeping in the bedroom for awhile :D....

    Is that for loading Dish protocols on the 7960? I tried google without success; is it @ JP1 forums?


    The PS3 adapter manual? I don't see any codes in the PS3 adapter manual. Just the codes for the 7960 in its manual.
     
    #5
  6. mdavej

    mdavej Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Posts:
    814
    Likes Received:
    8
    I've been in the doghouse many times for my remote habit. I know exactly where you're coming from.

    Unfortunately, learning or a JP1 cable is the only way to get Dish to work on the 7960. Details are in 3FG's reply in the hifi-remote.com JP1 forums.

    I couldn't find the code in the manual like I thought, but it was in their FAQ:
    So just add DVD - One For All - PS3 and it should work.
     
    #6
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri