New to satellites, want to learn. 1000.2 dish setup.

Newseum Mike

Original poster
Jun 18, 2007
Hi everyone, I've got a dishnet 500 and DVR 625 in place in my condo in 22312 (Alexandria, VA) and I've also got a little house in 22553, Spotsylvania, VA. (lucky to have electricity there) where we spend weekends.

With the hope of not buying extra service, I bought a Dishnet 1000.2 dish and LNB's that I'll permanently mount in Spotsylvania and take the DVR with us on the weekends. I'm an engineering technician in DC and satellite technology is something I'd like to learn about, our new building's going to have at least a dozen dishes.

Man what a pain it is to align this thing using the receiver! It seems to be very slow to respond. Guess it's time for a real meter. Yes, I've read the manual, my aiming should be 245az/128sk/28inc. for 119 The tinfoil idea is next.

I called Satpro (a site sponsor) and bought an Accutrac 22 pro meter.

My question (one of them) is am I headed in the correct direction, or are there any other caveats concerning the 1000.2 and the DVR 625 I'm likely to encounter? Are they compatable at all?

I've seen the threads on adding a '44 switch, but doesn't the 1000.2 already have one? Will a power adapter be needed (or useful at all?).

I bought the 3 LNB model in case I decide to add channels later on, my service now only receives channels from 110 and 119. My wife is from Ethiopia, any of that programming on any accessable satellites?

Actually, this is kind of fun, but very small movements of the dish translate to large changes in signal. Any other satellites you've found interesting? If I get this to work, I've got a port left.

Thanks everyone.

Mike

Hi everyone, I've got a dishnet 500 and DVR 625 in place in my condo in 22312 (Alexandria, VA) and I've also got a little house in 22553, Spotsylvania, VA. (lucky to have electricity there) where we spend weekends.