Pointing a 1000.4 western arc dish

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by CHRISJ364, Mar 6, 2011.

  1. CHRISJ364

    CHRISJ364 Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CHICAGO
    I am trying to point a 1000.4 western arc in the chicago area. I was unable to find the angles. I was able to find the angles for 1000.2 are the the same? I was unable to get signal with these. I also have 2 dpp44 switches in attic so I can hookup 6 boxes. Some legacy some new. Should I run a cable to only 1 box for setup? I have a small signal finder that I using to tune. Had no trouble tuning dish 500 before the dpp44 switches in attic.
     
  2. papalittle

    papalittle Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Posts:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Some old corn field, United States
    Need to know what number of receivers you are attempting to install.. the settings for a 1000.2 and 1000.4 WA are the same.

    If you are hooking up the DPP44 switches you need to run 3 cables from the dish to the switch.

    Connect meter and point the dish slightly to the SW then SLOWLY move dish Back and forth until you hit a signal. Peak the signal then run a switch test. If you get 119, 110 ,129 in that order you are good to go. if you get 110, X, 119 you are too far to the East.
     
    #2 papalittle, Mar 6, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2011
  3. the mack

    the mack Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Posts:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    HOCKEYTOWN
    do you have a western arc lnb?
     
  4. CHRISJ364

    CHRISJ364 Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CHICAGO
    Yes I do. I got a signal today but was unable to get all three. I hit 110 and 119 but not 129. I ran a separate cable to dish for pointing. i am going to check my mount and settings.
     
  5. HIFI

    HIFI Resident Psycho
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    8,714
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    surfin SATGUYS in a round room with padded walls
    where are the sats located in your switch matrix screen?
     
  6. the mack

    the mack Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Posts:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    HOCKEYTOWN
    you should have 119,110,129 in that order....if 110 is first you are about 10 degrees off...if you have 119,110,xx you may have a obstruction blocking 129.
    the 129 sat is pretty low in the sky....
     
  7. CHRISJ364

    CHRISJ364 Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CHICAGO
    The screen was 110 XX 119. If I moved it farther west I could not get anything but a direct sat I think my box did not give a name but my meter was at its peak. I broke down and called Dish.
    Thanks for the info guys.
     
    #7 CHRISJ364, Mar 9, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2011
  8. papalittle

    papalittle Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Posts:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Some old corn field, United States
    You moved it the wrong direction.
     
  9. Laddyboy

    Laddyboy SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Posts:
    3,132
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Central IL/SW FL/Big Island
    You appear to be receiving 110 on the center LNB so you are pointed at it instead of 119. Your antenna is pointing too far east. You need to move 9 degrees to the west.
     
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri